A Horizontal Day – Day 119 of The Pollyanna Plan

I’m still in a lot of pain today (see yesterday’s post) and haven’t managed to stay vertical for very long because it hurts my injured neck too much. This, in turn, is not really conducive to feeling glad/happy/joyful. But, in between sleeping and feeling a little sorry for myself, I have been trying to keep focused on the positives – really, I have!

Another reason I’m struggling to grasp those happy feelings today, is because my dear friend’s father has to have a serious operation soon and it is a very difficult time for all the family.

However, I made a commitment when I began The Pollyanna Plan to find a daily reason to feel glad/happy/joyful no matter what happens, so here goes – I’m digging deep.

Day 119, Reason 119: Today I’m very grateful for the technology that allows me to lie on the sofa with an injured neck and type this post.

I didn’t know how I was going to type today, as sitting up really puts strain on my neck injury and hurts far too much. I tried typing this post on my phone, but I don’t have a mobile WordPress app (does one even exist? I expect so!) and when I tried to delete and correct a word the whole thing froze. Plus, I don’t have free internet on my phone and I suspected it would end up costing a lot.

So, with the help of my wonderful Mum, I have assumed a horizontal, reclining position on the sofa with my laptop propped up on my knees. Before the days of light as a feather (well, nearly) laptops, this would’t have been possible. I don’t have wifi, but thankfully the internet cable is long enough to reach. All in all, it’s pretty comfortable, or as comfortable as I’m going to get today. And seeing the photographic evidence has given me a much needed giggle!

IMG_0405

Today I’m sending all my healing thoughts, energy and love to my friend’s father.

246 days to go

246 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children

If you can find it in your heart to sponsor me on my healing journey through The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful)  your money will go directly to my chosen charity, Save the Children, whose vital work reaches more than 80 million children each year.

To donate or to  find out more, please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

 

 


4 thoughts on “A Horizontal Day – Day 119 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Aww, I’m really sorry to hear about your friend’s father. Much love to him. And yes, there is totally a WordPress app! I use it all the time, and it’s really great. You can blog and reply to comments right from your phone if you want to, and it’s even better if you have voice dictation! Hope you feel better soon, though! XXX

    1. Thank you very much for your kind words. 🙂 And also thanks for the app info! I don’t have voice dictation on my phone, but it would be so useful right now! xx

Leave a Reply

