Manifesting Les Mis – Day 117 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 117, Reason 117: Today I am excited to watch Les Misérables and even more thrilled about how the DVD came to me.

Two evenings ago, I was watching TV when an advert came on for the DVD release of the film, Les Misérables. I have never seen the musical and, to be honest, I’ve always been a little put off by the less than cheerful title.

However, I have been longing to see the film since I first saw the spectacular trailer before its release in the cinema. It looked so powerful, dramatic and impressive and gave me goose bumps of anticipation. Plus, amongst the cast are some of my favourite actors and actresses. I just had to see it, and I made my Mum promise to go to the cinema with me, even though it’s one of her least favourite activities!

But, then unfortunately, I was too ill to venture out of the house, and as the weeks ticked by it looked like I might miss out on watching a screening. Finally, when I began to feel a little better, I heard the sad news that our cinema had been closed down. My Les Mis experience just didn’t look like it was going to happen.

So, when I saw the advert for the release of the DVD this weekend, I said to my Mum how much I still really wanted to see it, and wouldn’t it be great if someone had the DVD to lend to me.

This afternoon, I was trying (unsuccessfully) to catch up on some much needed sleep, after a rubbish night, when the postman knocked on the door with a parcel for my Mum. Inside was a birthday present for her from her good friend. Mum’s birthday isn’t until the end of June, but the present had a note on it to say “open it now and enjoy!”

Yep, you’ve guessed it, inside was the DVD of Les Misérables! Thank you Universe…and my Mum’s friend (who knew nothing about my wish!) 🙂

MV5BMTQ4NDI3NDg4M15BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMjY5OTI1OA@@._V1_SX214_

248 days to go

248 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children

If you can find it in your heart to sponsor me on my healing journey through The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful)  your money will go directly to my chosen charity, Save the Children, whose vital work reaches more than 80 million children each year.

To donate or to  find out more, please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

 

 


7 thoughts on “Manifesting Les Mis – Day 117 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. That’s really cool. You’ll love it. I took my boyfriend to see it years ago in San Francisco (it was a dream of his too), and have listened to the soundtrack many times over the years. But I found some of the performances in the film to be remarkably powerful and visceral, partly because they used the actual recordings instead of overdubbing them later. Poor Anne Hathaway spent like, eight hours straight singing “I Dreamed a Dream” over and over, so I daresay she deserved that Oscar, and then some. Enjoy! 🙂

  2. I’m so looking forward to watching it! I’m saving it for a day when I’m not so tired and I can give it my full attention. Didn’t Anne Hathaway cut off all her beautiful hair for the scene too? Definitely Oscar worthy!!

    1. Yes she did – but you will also find the acting of other actresses just as spectacular – I won’t spoil by saying who – you will know what I mean – would love to hear what you think about Les Misérables. Enjoy.

  3. The film is amazing. I saw the West End Show – sadly I had seen an old film of Les Mis just the week before – so I knew the plot – the |French Revolution| is never going to be happy. But I promise there is love – courage – virtues and strength – it is so well produced – great cast – it will make you cry – it will also lift you up!

Leave a Reply

