Signs That I Am Healing – Day 116 of The Pollyanna Plan

betterdoctor-health-quote-8

Day 116, Reason 116: Today I am over the moon that I am feeling a little bit healthier.

I can’t tell you how happy I’m feeling right now, because today, ladies and gentleman, I have noticed an improvement in my health. Yippee!

After feeling decidedly lousy for the past couple of weeks, it was such a relief  to wake this morning feeling a lot less groggy, more refreshed and with a tiny spark of energy.

I’ve even been able to get some jobs done, including walking round to the local post office this morning. Even though it is only a few minutes walk away, I wouldn’t have been able to to this yesterday, so I am so grateful that I felt well enough to go today and didn’t have to send my Mum on my behalf.

I don’t know if this has anything to do with it, but along with chucking out all the beauty products I owned that contained chemicals and/or natural products that I am intolerant to, (see Day 114 of The Pollyanna Plan,) I also stopped using toothpaste a couple of days ago.

Now, I know what you’re thinking…GROSS…but hear me out. The reason I have stopped, is that one of the foods that showed up in my food intolerance blood test as being a problem for me was mint. I know, who’d have thought!

Anyway, of course all toothpastes are mint flavoured, so whilst eliminating any chemicals or natural products I’m intolerant to that I was using on my skin, I decided that it probably wasn’t all that wise to be putting mint in my mouth on a daily basis.

So, I thought I’d try a little experiment and for the past 2 days I have been brushing my teeth with my toothbrush and water alone, along with flossing. And you know what? Remarkably, my teeth actually feel cleaner than when I used toothpaste!

It got me thinking about why this would be and I set about doing some research. I found these really interesting posts: I Stopped Using Toothpaste, and  Why I Don’t Use Toothpaste, that both discuss the benefits of not using toothpaste and also the alternatives that are out there. Apparently Julia Roberts doesn’t use toothpaste either, so I am in good company!

All the posts and articles I read also highlighted the toxins used in toothpaste – it’s quite scary really – which I’m sure with my health problems, I’ll be much better off without.

And what can I say, I really am feeling a bit better today. Who knows whether there is a link, but I’m going to continue toothpasteless, as it seems to be working for me. 🙂

249 days to go

249 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children

If you can find it in your heart to sponsor me on my healing journey through The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful)  your money will go directly to my chosen charity, Save the Children, whose vital work reaches more than 80 million children each year.

To donate or to  find out more, please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

 

 


9 thoughts on “Signs That I Am Healing – Day 116 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Good idea! There are lots of natural, fluoride-free toothpastes out there, or plain old baking soda can do the trick just fine. Coconut oil is supposed to be good for your gums as well, so maybe you could try a paste made of the two together.

    Oh, and some toothpastes come in cinnamon flavor, if you like that sort of thing. I don’t.

    So glad you’re feeling better! May it ever be so! 🙂

    1. Thank you! 🙂 And thank you for the tips! Unfortunately, I’m also intolerant to cinnamon! Grr!

      In one of the posts I read (I Stopped Using Toothpaste-link above) they even suggest that natural toothpaste isn’t that great for your teeth because of the glycerin.

      I shall give the coconut oil and baking soda a try, although for now good old water and a toothbrush seems to be working. 🙂

      1. Really? Why does glycerin hurt your teeth? I’ll have to have a look.

        I’ve heard some research suggesting that you actually do remove more plaque by not using toothpaste. I suppose people used to just use chewed-up twigs or something, anyway! 🙂

        Okay, I just went and tried the coconut oil and baking soda thing (which I totally made up), because I don’t like to recommend things I haven’t actually tried.

        Upside: If you like the flavor of coconut (which I don’t), I think the combination with the baking soda is not unpleasant. It makes your mouth taste really sweet when you rinse, and your teeth look shiny from the coconut oil. They also feel perfectly clean.

        Downside: It gets the brush and the sink a little greasy. You’ll need to wipe them off. 🙂

  2. I have used baking soda for years.. it’s kinda a funky taste until you get used to it, but I have super healthy teeth and gums. I also tried oil pulling using coconut oil for awhile, but to be honest didn’t really enjoy it. I am sure it has benefits, but I found the whole process sorta yucky. But I do use coconut oil as a makeup remover and cleanser and moisturiser… and my skin is awesome (not just right now, but that’s a whole other story).. but yeah.. it does block the drains somewhat.

Leave a Reply

