We Never Know The Worth Of Water Till The Well Is Dry – Day 115 of The Pollyanna Plan

Well, who’d have ever thought this would be my reason to feel glad for the day?…

Day 115, Reason 115: Today I am extremely grateful for all the rain we have had this year.

I know, I know, rain sucks – at least it does in my book! I am definitely a fair weather person (very different to a fair weather friend, I hasten to add.)

I feel at my best when the sun is shining and the air pressure is high. All this cloud and rain business does not suit me and leaves me feeling exhausted, headachy and a little glum. However, in spite of  the turbulent weather and feeling far from my best today, I’ve really got to hand it to the rain!

It feels like an age since I last felt well enough to leave the house, so this morning, my Mum kindly took me out for a drive to give me a change of scenery. We set off out into the countryside, which still looks lush and verdant -1 brownie point to the rain! Normally at this time of year, the wild flowers would be dying and the grasses turning yellow, so it was lovely to see it all looking so green.

We followed the winding country roads until we reached a sign for the reservoir and decided to go and have a look. The last time we went, all the way back on Day 10 of The Pollyanna Plan, the water levels in the reservoir were still looking decidedly low, despite the copious amounts of rain we’ve had this winter.

Last year was a glorious year weather-wise – even the winter was warm, dry, sunny and cloudless (hoorah) but this also meant that come the summer, we had quite a serious drought – not so good!

As we drove up the steep track to the top of the dam, I was eager to see how much difference all this rain had made.

IMG_0392

Bravely standing on the top of the dam wall 🙂

Now, for a little game of spot the difference! This is what the reservoir looked like at the beginning of February.

IMG_0144

And here it is today – the photo is taken from the same place – 2 brownie points for the rain!

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

On the way home, we took a different route and came across this beautiful Roman bridge over a river, that has far more water in than usual – more brownie points. And I have to admit that the clouds make the composition of the photo much more interesting.

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

Thinking about how grateful I felt today, made me realise that having a plentiful supply of clean, safe water is something I often take for granted. Others are not so fortunate. There are many places in the world that suffer extreme droughts and where the little water they have is filthy and contaminated.

This got me thinking and I have been doing a little research. Here is what I’ve discovered –

My target of raising £365 for Save the Children through sponsorship of The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) will pay for a water pump to give clean water to a whole village and keep families safe from deadly diseases. How brilliant is that? 🙂

If you can find it in your heart to sponsor me, your money will go directly to my chosen charity, Save the Children, whose vital work reaches more than 80 million children each year.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

250 days to go

250 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children


Leave a Reply

