I’d Sooner Try Defying Gravity – Day 107 of The Pollyanna Plan

“Miracles are a retelling in small letters of the very same story which is written across the whole world in letters too large for some of us to see.” – C. S. Lewis.

Having been feeling pretty rough for the past few days, I was so happy to wake up this morning with a little more energy and the beginnings of a spring in my step. This could mean only one thing – to market we must go!

Today is market day at the beachside town near where I live – shamefully, I only discovered this a couple of weeks ago, having lived here for a good few years. So, this morning, my Mum and I headed down to buy our fill of delicious, fresh, locally grown produce. The market was bustling, vibrant and colourful and we came home laden with goodies. The best part for me was the joy of being well enough to go out and about again. 🙂

I needed to do a few things online when we returned home, and whilst I was browsing through my Facebook newsfeed (i.e not getting on with the jobs I was meant to be doing,) I came across a photo on Dr. Wayne W. Dyer’s page, with this caption:

“Today is my 73rd birthday and as I look back over the last year the greatest gift to me was seeing Dana take her first unaided steps into my arms in Denver. She has been in a wheelchair for the past 25 years and was told she would never walk again.”

I don’t know any further details about this incredible story, but its powerful message has left a huge impression on me. I’ve always been inclined to believe that miracles are possible and as The Pollyanna Plan marches on, my faith in miracles is becoming stronger and stronger.

Reading the story on Dr. Wayne Dyer’s page today has really ignited a flame within me to do the so-called impossible. After all, if Dana can get up and take a step, having spent 25 years in a wheelchair and being told she’ll never walk again, then I see no reason why I can’t restore my body to complete health, whatever anybody else says.

Day 107, Reason 107: Today, I feel so inspired that miracles really do happen.

I’ve been singing Defying Gravity from the musical, Wicked, all day (strangely, even before I saw the pic on Facebook.) Note to self: Add going to see Wicked in the West End to my vision album. I love the lyrics and find them so inspiring, they make me feel like I can do anything!

“I’m through accepting limits, cause someone says they’re so. Some things I cannot change, but till I try, I’ll never know… I’d sooner try defying gravity.”

I’ll leave you with this clip of Idina Menzel and Kristin Chenoweth performing a shortened version of Defying Gravity at the Tony Awards.

258 days to go

258 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children

If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save the Children.

To find out more, please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013 –  All Rights Reserved.


4 thoughts on “I’d Sooner Try Defying Gravity – Day 107 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. A friend of mine (actress) went to see it as her makeshift honeymoon – I think they had their real one a year after the wedding, but at the time just had 2 spectacular days in London.

Leave a Reply

