Yoga And The Search For My Happiness Mojo – Day 98 of The Pollyanna Plan

Today has been a tough day health wise and normal functioning has been a huge struggle. I have been battling through an autoimmune flare up, feeling completely exhausted, groggy, unnaturally cold, generally unwell and desperately trying to find my happy place. It hasn’t been easy and I’ve had to bring out the big guns.

This morning, I tried playing happy music and singing along, but that didn’t do it. Next, I gave the Gratitude Game a go, giving thanks out loud for all the good things in my life. And, although I could feel the positivity beginning to stir, I just couldn’t quite grasp the joyful feeling I was searching for.

After lunch, I gave up and went for a nap, but all I did was doze in and out of sleep, having crazy, stressful dreams, so it didn’t help much. And by late afternoon, I just felt like crying, as it’s so hard to remain feeling up, when physically feeling so bad and not knowing how long it will last.

My final shot was to do some gentle yoga stretching and deep breathing, following the yoga video for complete beginners I have been diligently doing most days. Believe me, any form of exercise was the last thing I felt like doing, but I made myself knuckle down and get on with it. Tough love!

Day 98, Reason 98: Today I am so grateful for the healing power of yoga.

warning

I’d never tried yoga before I discovered the online video a few months back and, quite honestly, I didn’t understand what all the fuss was about. But, now I get it! I feel at peace when I’m doing yoga and completely present. And the miraculous thing is that the stretches and breathing seem to help my body shift whatever it is that is ailing me.

By the end of the half  hour video, I felt the groggy fog in my head begin to lift and at the same time, a spark of happiness ignited. I grabbed onto that spark with both hands and have continued to feel happier and more positive with each passing minute.

Although I’m still feeling drained and looking ghostly pale, I now have my happiness mojo back, which is exactly what I need to overcome this setback in my health. I know I can do it! Hoorah!

267 days to go

267 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children

If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save the Children.

To find out more, please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013 –  All Rights Reserved.


2 thoughts on “Yoga And The Search For My Happiness Mojo – Day 98 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Yaay for you! Yoga really can be nice. I’m not that into it, but I do a little every day before bed, to help me sleep better. I really sympathize about the feeling yucky – this wasn’t a great day for me either. Some days you just soldier on and expect the next one to be better. Which it will be. 🙂

Leave a Reply

