A Whole New World Of Food – Day 97 of The Pollyanna Plan

IMG_0387

“What a difference a day makes. Twenty-four little hours.” And what a difference an improved (still not great, but better) night’s sleep makes.

I was feeling so dreadful last night, that I’d enlisted my Mum to go out and do the jobs I needed to do this morning – she’s the best! But, as it turns out, we were able to go together – Mum being the chauffeur, as my energy is still a little low. I can’t wait to feel healthy enough to be able to go out and do things on my own, but still, it is a vast improvement on yesterday. I like to celebrate the steps forward, no matter how small they are! 🙂

When we returned, I was excited about making some homemade almond milk again, especially as this time, we had bought some decaf coffee. I haven’t had a coffee (albeit decaf) for weeks, as I’m no longer able to tolerate even the lactose free milk I used to drink, so I was REALLY looking forward to it.

Almond milk is so quick and easy to make, now that I’m the proud owner of a new blender – something I had included in my vision album a couple of weeks ago. Result! Here’s how you do it, incase you want to give it a try:

  • Soak 1 cup of almonds overnight in filtered water, with enough water to cover them- I put mine in the fridge.
  • The next day, drain away the water and put the almonds in the blender
  • Add 3 cups of fresh filtered water
  • Blend baby blend
  • Then strain the almond milk through cheesecloth. Now, please don’t freak out, but I didn’t have any cheesecloth or a fancy nut milk bag, so I used a nylon stocking – thoroughly sterilised! It works a treat and I am still very much alive to tell the tale.

I discovered that almond milk gives coffee a lovely, creamy flavour and I savoured every mouthful!

IMG_0385

Then, with the left over almond pulp, my Mum came up with the idea of making apple crumble. We just added some coconut oil and honey to the mix. Oh my goodness, it was soooo good, especially with a little almond milk poured over the top (see photo at the top.)

Although, this whole food intolerance malarky can be a total pain in the rear end, on the plus side…

Day 97, Reason 97: Today I am really happy to be discovering a whole new world of food.

It’s also forcing me to get to know the kitchen a little better. Who knows, I may even be able to cook one day!? Stranger things have happened at sea! 🙂

268 days to go

268 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children

If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save the Children.

To find out more, please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013 –  All Rights Reserved.


4 thoughts on “A Whole New World Of Food – Day 97 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. I tried the almond milk thing myself recently – I strained it through an ordinary coffee filter, which worked fine, and used the leftovers in my veggie shake. It was fun, but I haven’t felt compelled to repeat it. Wish I could eat apple crumble though – it looks yummy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

