Spreading A Little Happiness – Day 95 of The Pollyanna Plan

KnightsTavern.org-62

Day 95, Reason 95: Today I feel  happy to be able to support someone, as others have supported me.

I woke this morning with a little more energy than yesterday. Hoorah! So, I decided to seize the moment and head to the shops (with my Mum driving,) as I had a birthday present and a Mother’s Day present to buy.

I was thrilled with this progress in my health as, even though I’m still quite tired, I’d usually have to send my Mum out to the shops for me – I’m ashamed to say that she’s even had to buy her own presents from me on a few occasions when I’ve been too ill to leave the house. So, although she came with me this morning, I was still able to sneak away and get her something for Mother’s Day without her seeing. Hope she likes it! I also managed to get all the shopping I needed done quite quickly, which is always a result!

We stopped off at the supermarket on the way home and, instead of having to sit and wait in the car, as I’m usually too exhausted after an hour or two shopping, I felt good enough to go and help with the weekly shop. Next to the bananas, we bumped into someone we haven’t seen for ages and it was good to have a chat and a catch up. All this is big progress for me, as in the past, I was rarely well enough to leave the house, never mind go shopping AND meet someone!

After a rest this afternoon, I sat down to write my blog post for the day and it got me thinking about my sponsored challenge to raise £365 for Save the Children (for 365 days of finding 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful.) In particular, I thought about how happy it makes me when I receive a donation, not just for myself, but also knowing all the good, joy and positivity the money will bring to children around the world.

I decided that, today, I would like to spread a little happiness of my own and support someone else in a fundraising challenge, as others have supported me. I logged into WordPress and searched for “fundraising” and up came all these blog posts for Live Below The Line. Just the thing!

Live Below The Line is a global fundraising challenge to spend no more than £1 per day on food for 5 days, raising money and awareness for the 1.4 billion people currently living in extreme poverty around the world. Today was the first day of the challenge and as I began reading through all the inspiring posts, I came across one that resonated with me and made me chuckle. Also, coincidentally, it was someone who hadn’t yet received any sponsorship.

So, I made a small donation to their fundraising page. I hope this will make them smile and encourage them to keep going with their challenge for such a worthy cause.

“Happiness is like jam. You can’t spread even a little without getting some on yourself.” 🙂

270 days to go

270 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children

If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save the Children.

To find out more, please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013 –  All Rights Reserved.


2 thoughts on “Spreading A Little Happiness – Day 95 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Hi Pollyanna,

    I love that you donated to a stanger as well!

    Just wanted to drop you a line to say that Save the Children are one of the main charity partners for Live Below the Line , and me and my colleagues are all doing it too! It’s harder than I thought it would be, and has required sooooo much planning for what to buy, meals and rationing it out so you don’t starve! However, with your food planning I’m sure you understand 🙂

    Abi

    Abi Robertson | Save the Children UK | Community Events Fundraiser

    1 St John’s Lane, Farringdon, London, EC1M 4AR

    Direct line +44 (0)20 7012 6756

    Email: aa.robertson@savethechildren.org.uk

    Website: http://www.savethechildren.org.uk

    Twitter: @AbiRobertsonSTC

    1. Thank you for your comment, Abi. Best of luck with your challenge – I can imagine it’s really hard, but a fantastic way to raise awareness and money. I’d love to know how you get on. 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

