It’s All A Matter of Ratio – Day 90 of The Pollyanna Plan

Today is Day 90 of The Pollyanna Plan. That’s 3 whole months of finding a daily reason to feel glad/happy/joyful. Has it been easy? Not always. Has it been worth it? Most definitely!

I wish I could say that I have been feeling super healthy on such a momentous day, but, unfortunately, that’s not the case. I woke this morning with a very sore throat, feeling achey, feverish and exhausted. This is the reaction I experience to any form of stress in my life, be it emotional or physical, and it’s something I am determined to deal with and change.

Yesterday, my lovely, soppy dog, Bojangles, came bounding over to greet me after my afternoon nap and trod right on the toe I had injured the day before, scratching me with his claws as he did so. Although it may not sound that bad, as my toe was already injured, I was barefooted, and Bojangles is much bigger than he thinks he is, it was REALLY painful. I didn’t think much of it at the time (apart from Owwww) but when I woke in the night feeling ropey, I realised what must have happened.

However, something began to dawn on me as I went about my morning routine. And that is, it’s been a couple of weeks since I’ve had this reaction. Ok, I’ve had some other stuff going on in the meantime, relating to my body’s adjustment to my new grain/egg/dairy/lots of other things free diet (not my choice, I hasten to add,) but I haven’t had the sore throat reaction for 2 weeks, which is HUMUNGOUS progress for me! Hoorah!

So, then I got to thinking about whether there will ever come a time when I won’t get this reaction or have “down days” at all. Or whether I’ll have to spend my life being super careful not to stress my body emotionally or physically, as I’ve been told many times by medical professionals – maybe wrapping myself in cotton wool really might be an option? Hmm!

I began discussing this out loud with my Mum and her reply was:”It’s all a matter of ratio.” Now, you know me and maths – we aren’t the best of friends – but she’s right, as mother’s always most of the time are!

A few months ago, I was mostly having down days and spent the majority of my days feeling like I do right now. The occasional good, sore throat, fever-free days were few and far between. But, as I continue dedicating myself to my mission to improve my health through the power of happy, positive feelings, this is all beginning to change.

Day 90, Reason 90: Today I am so thankful that my ratio of good days to bad days is improving.

I believe that if I’ve managed to improve this ratio in only 90 days, there’s absolutely no reason why I can’t get to a point where EVERY day is a good day, no matter what happens in my life, and no matter what the health professionals say. Sorry, Mr (and Mrs/Miss) doctors, but I aint buying “impossible!”

04e5d47c736df0ea917ea19181d4fbfe

275 days to go

275 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children

If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save the Children.

To find out more, please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


5 thoughts on “It’s All A Matter of Ratio – Day 90 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. It will happen. It will happen so gradually, you won’t even notice. Nature is the true healer. And you know what a miracle nature is.
    One day you may think about it and suddenly realise that the good days outweigh the bad. The mind is a wonderful thing and has the power to overcome the supposed impossible.
    I wasn’t supposed to hear the doctor – but I did. After a bad injury as a child my leg was in plaster for a year… I was home schooled… Raised money for charity people paid to sign the plaster, and endured intense physiotherapy.
    At the end the doctor told my mum I’d never walk again without sticks or a limp.
    At the time I was 8 and training to be a dancer. Overhearing the consultant saved me from a different future.
    In that moment I was determined to not only walk again, but to dance.

    So dance ( once your tie is better…) & quit worrying about when or if the day will come. I say that because throughout the past year of illness I have worried over the same concern. Like you I suddenly realised there were more good than bad days. My energy could have been used elsewhere.
    You can do it! … Because- you already are!

  2. Congrats on your three-monthiversary! I really like the idea of ratio, and it definitely helps if you give more weight to the good days and just say “well, I’ll probably feel better tomorrow” on the not-so-good-ones. I don’t think anybody in the world has nothing but good days, but the bad ones just teach you to appreciate the better ones, or to correct something you’re doing, so that has value too.

    You will be amazed in the turnaround in your health if you stick to it, though. My days used to be mostly bad, and now they are almost all good, so it really is possible, although I do think you will always need to be cautious and protective of your sensitivities. But that is okay – that’s just mindfulness, which is a worthwhile spiritual practice.

    One caution – as you get feeling better, please don’t do the thing that people on antidepressants sometimes do, thinking “I’m better now, I don’t need this anymore.” I used to do that, and it delayed my healing for a long time. Stay with what you know works for you as much as you can, within the boundaries of sanity. If you occasionally need to have a wee splurge, even though you know you’ll pay a price for it, just weigh it carefully and do it consciously. And if you don’t need to, so much the better! 🙂

Leave a Reply

