Choose Happiness – Day 89 of The Pollyanna Plan

smiling_face_of_nature

Sometimes feeling happy is a choice you have to make and, at times, it can require great effort. As my healing journey progresses, I’m finding it easier and easier to choose happiness and, to my amazement, I’m already seeing great results, not only in terms of my health, but also in the little things that make up my life.

Do you remember a couple of week’s ago, I wrote a post about  how my day began with things going wrong, but I worked hard to fight the urge to let it drag me down and finally managed to turn things around?

One of those things was an email I had received from a customer who had ordered two, handmade, commissioned pieces from my online shop, to say that the box I had posted them in had been smashed and one of the items was damaged.

I was really gutted at the time, both for my customer, who had ordered the item to wear on her wedding day, and also for myself, as I had put a lot of time, effort and love into making it.

My customer hadn’t actually seen the items, as she was away and they had been shipped to a friend, so she said she’d let me know what she’d like to do when she returned home. I, of course, offered to make her a replacement item free of charge. Naturally, I felt pretty disappointed about the whole thing, especially as it was the postal service who had carelessly damaged the box.

However, owing to my commitment to The Pollyanna Plan and my mission to improve my health and life through the power of happy, positive feelings, I refused to let myself dwell on this. Instead, I focused on happy thoughts for the rest of the day and visualized receiving an email from my customer with positive news. I then let the situation go and have continued to find things to feel glad/happy/joyful for each day.

And this afternoon, the very email I had visualised popped into my inbox. My customer wrote to say that the item wasn’t nearly as damaged as she first thought and she was sure she could fix it easily herself. Best of all, she was very happy with both items. Phew! What a result, eh?!

Day 89, Reason 89: Today I feel so grateful for the benefits of feeling happy

Don’t get me wrong, I’m by no means a pro at this. I’m still very much in the learning phase and often have tough days, health wise and life wise. But, thanks to The Pollyanna Plan, I’m learning to choose happiness, no matter what happens, and for that I am eternally grateful.

276 days to go

276 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children

If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save the Children.

To find out more, please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


One thought on “Choose Happiness – Day 89 of The Pollyanna Plan

Leave a Reply

