Sleeping Beauty – Day 87 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 87, Reason 87: Today I am so grateful for the benefits of a decent night’s sleep.

Ahhhh! The joys of sleep! It feels like ages since I’ve managed to sleep well enough for my body to feel properly rested and re-energised.

I know it’s kind of stating the obvious, but it really is quite amazing how beneficial a decent night’s sleep can be for your health, wellbeing and energy. I’ve yet to sleep through the night (does anyone honestly manage that?!) but falling asleep before 1am last night and only waking up a handful of times before getting up at 9am, is progress for me.

To celebrate feeling rested and far, far better than I’ve felt for the past few days, I set off  this morning, out into the big wide world in my car, to do a few jobs. If felt fantastic to be well enough to drive myself for the first time in about 3 weeks (without needing to rely on my Mum) and as I drove, I played the Gratitude Game, giving thanks out loud for my super reliable car, the beautiful, sunny day, the other careful, considerate drivers on the road etc, etc. The funny thing was that every set of traffic lights I drove through turned green, right at the moment I drew up to them. It can’t be coincidence, can it?

Firstly, I visited some guests staying in my Dad’s holiday apartment. They asked me the question I normally dread – “what do you do?” – and, for the second time since the start of The Pollyanna Plan, I felt confident and happy to tell them about my online shop and selling my handmade items. In fact, I even explained that I’d been ill for many years – something I’d never have done before, as I used to feel ashamed and a bit like a failure, if the truth be known. But, all of that is now well and truly in the past and I actually really enjoyed chatting to them, instead of being worried about what they’d think of me. More progress.

Next, I popped in to visit my Dad quickly. He was out watering his beautiful garden and amongst the flower beds, I spotted this magnificent rose. Isn’t it just stunning?

IMG_0347

As always, my Dad kindly ladened me with wonderful, fresh, organic fruit and vegetables from his garden – this time I came away with broad beans, lemons, chives and potatoes. I’ll be having those for dinner tonight – maybe not all together though!

Finally, I called in to see my Mum’s lovely friend, Mary, on my way home. I was only meant to drop something off, but ended up staying for ages, chatting away. She is such a positive person to be around, that I was feeling even more happy and joyful by the time I left.

All in all, a very enjoyable day and largely thanks to some much needed sleep. 🙂

278 days to go

278 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£238.68 to raise for Save the Children

 If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save the Children.

To find out more, please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


7 thoughts on “Sleeping Beauty – Day 87 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Great report! I do think you’ll find your sleep improving as you tinker with your diet. I was always a terrible light sleeper before, and had all kinds of night symptoms. But once I gave up carbs they all disappeared, and now I fall asleep right away and maybe only wake up once during the night. No more nightmares, either, unless I have sugar. So look forward to it! I recommend a bit of light stretching or yoga before bed – it releases a lot of tension and you might sleep better.

    Now if I could just find someone to give me fresh organic vegetables…jealous! 🙂

    1. Thank you! That’s so encouraging! 🙂 It’s so very kind of you to write and tell me about your experiences, as it really does give me hope that things will improve. 🙂

Leave a Reply

