Wowsers! My Health Insurance Came Up Trumps – Day 84 of The Pollyanna Plan

Woohoo! Today, I have SUCH a good reason to feel glad. In fact, it’s so good that it cancels out the not so great health related issues of the day.

I think my body is adjusting to my new way of eating – without grains, dairy, eggs and all sorts of other foods that I discovered I’m intolerant to – and I believe I’m going through a sort of detox reaction. Not too pleasant!

But, here’s the thing that has kept me smiling and feeling positive all day:

Day 84, Reason 84: Today I’m overjoyed to have found out that my health insurance has reimbursed me most of the cost of my food intolerance blood test.

pennies-from-heaven

My doctor recommended that I have this blood test done a few years ago, however, when he told me the cost of it, I balked. How much is too much is relative to each individual and having been unable to work and earn any income for the past 6 years, the cost of this test was WAY too expensive for me. I haven’t even received any benefits from the Government all this time, as I moved back to my home country to live with my lovely Mum, when I became too ill to work. So, at the time, there was simply no way I could have the test done.

However, lately, since the start of The Pollyanna Plan, things have been looking up and I have been attracting little sums of money here and there on a fairly frequent basis.

I also had a strong feeling that food (or more accurately food that I’m intolerant to) was playing a huge part in my illness and I decided that it was my number 1 priority to get the test done as soon as possible.

Having been reading bits and bobs about The Law of Attraction, I knew that it was imperative to feel good about parting with the money for the test, as feeling bad about it, would only act like a magnet to bring me more things to feel bad about. So, on the day of the test, I worked really hard at feeling happy and joyful handing over the money, knowing that the results of the test were going to play a significant role in my healing journey – which they are!

I’ve also started affirming a belief to myself about money, that parting with it is only temporary and that soon enough it will return to me. With this newfound belief in mind, I decided to send the bill for the food intolerance test to my health insurance company. Now, my health insurance has lots of clauses of all the things they do not cover and I know of people who’ve had claims refused for things you’d think would be covered.

Owing to this, I didn’t really believe that the cost of my food intolerance test would be reimbursed to me, as it isn’t a standard blood test and is also pretty expensive, but I thought it was worth a shot and I sent my claim in, feeling unattached to the outcome. After all, I knew that the money would return to me one way or another.

So, you can imagine my surprise and amazement to receive a letter last week, saying that the insurance company was considering my claim. I jumped on this and began to visualise receiving the money in my bank account and how great it felt.

And sure enough, when I checked my bank balance this morning, there it was. A whopping 90% refund. Incredible!

281 days to go

281 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£258.68 to raise for Save the Children

 If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save the Children.

To find out more, please click on the tab below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


10 thoughts on “Wowsers! My Health Insurance Came Up Trumps – Day 84 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Fantastic! When outer conditions shift, it’s a sure sign that the inner has shifted. Even if you don’t see the physical changes yet,doesn’t mean things aren’t changing, sometimes it takes a little while for the physical to catch up to the non-physical. The important thing is that you’re feeling good emotionally, then it doesn’t matter what’s going on in the physical. And that’s just when things change. I love your Pollyanna Plan!
    You inspire me! Way to go!
    Love and Grace, Nina

  2. Fabulous news … Wow …. It is all coming together. Where did you live before? I might guess the states from the literary title of your blog. I started living my dream as a way of bettering my health in 2013, my blog was a way of making sure I kept taking steps on that path. I wondered about blogging along the lines of recovery, instead decided on keeping my conditions out of it (although they creep in and make fleeting appearances from time to time!) I’m so happy that you chose to have your adventure on WordPress too.

  3. Good for you, that’s really great! So happy to hear it! Yaay, LOA!! 🙂

    Oh, and yes, it does take a while to adjust to the new diet – can be several weeks, really. So hang in there and let your body do what it does. It will get better over time. I’ve been sticking to my diet religiously lately, with only very occasional detours, and I’m really feeling good now. It can happen!

Leave a Reply

