The Secret To Life Is Learning To Let Go – Day 81 of The Pollyanna Plan

letting_go_-225x300

Someone once told me that the secret to life is learning to let go. At the time, I thought I understood what they meant, but now I realise that I didn’t, not really.

Something happened last night – I won’t go into the details – that brought up a lot of hurt, anger and fear from the past for me. The situation itself caused me pain, but I was truly shocked at my strong emotional reaction. I thought I had dealt with these feelings long ago. It turns out that I hadn’t, at least not properly.

After a sleepless night (I managed about 3 hours) I was feeling pretty raw this morning, but I had the strangest feeling that all this had happened for a reason. Since the start of The Pollyanna Plan, I have been learning to put my trust in the Universe and believe that everything I need to heal and regain perfect health will be brought to me. No longer do I stress and desperately try to come up with solutions or “how tos,” or worry what to do next. And it is my belief that this situation was brought to me, in order to show me that I was still holding onto emotional stuff I needed to unburden myself of.

I’m a very sensitive person and take everything to heart, so, in the past, this kind of situation would have deeply upset and troubled me for weeks, causing my health to deteriorate rapidly, along with my happy feelings. But, I woke this morning with a steely resolution not to let it ruin all the good I have achieved in the past few months.

So, this morning, I played a little game. This may sound crazy, but bear with me! I looked at how I had reacted to this situation and the reasons why I had reacted in that way and then I imagined each of these emotions as a shape with a specific colour. Here’s the mad part – I physically picked up each of the imaginary shapes, placed them into an imaginary black bin liner, tied it up with a big bow, picked up the bag and hurled it out into the Universe, watching as it turned to dust and finally disappeared. I have an overactive imagination, I know, but it was a wonderful release and a great way for me to visualise letting go.

Day 81, Reason 81: Today I am so grateful for the situation for happening, for all it has taught me and for letting go of stuff that has been weighing me down.

And you know what? I have felt so much better for the rest of the day. In fact, I’d go as far as to say that I feel even more positive than before. Today has been a HUGE turning point for me.

284  days to go

284 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£258.68 to raise for Save the Children

 If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save the Children.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


7 thoughts on “The Secret To Life Is Learning To Let Go – Day 81 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. That’s so great to hear – well done … I’m presuming you knew about trusting the universe before you became a blogger… I noticed the progress in your posts months ago … Before you mentioned it explicitly. 🙂
    Keep going, you’re doing so well. On bad days you are keeping me up there and from the back you look wonderful, shiny hair and an almost visible spring in your step (dog walking pic.) wishing you abundance… And sunshine.

    1. Thank you so much! Glad to know that I’m looking good from the back! hehe!

      Although I knew about trusting the Universe before I started this blog, I have to admit that I wasn’t very good at it, but I seem to be getting the hang of it now – thanks to The Pollyanna Plan and all the support I’m getting from you lovely people! 🙂 xx

Leave a Reply

