A Little Piece Of History – Day 80 of The Pollyanna Plan

Forgive me if my writing is a little incoherent today. I’m struggling through the pain of a migraine to type this blog post. But, despite the throbbing in my head and the fact I’m having to squint as the screen is too bright, I have a very good reason to feel glad/happy/joyful today.

Day 80, Reason 80: I’m thrilled to have discovered my own little piece of history.

This morning (pre-migraine), my Mum and I made a start converting our spare bedroom into my very own workroom. Exciting stuff!  For months now, the room has been piled high with boxes, including all the treasures given to me by a family friend when she moved abroad. I haven’t been able to do very much in there all this time, as I’ve been waiting for a sunny day to be able to open up the doors to the garden, take everything outside, sort through it all, before putting it back and re-organising the room. Today was the perfect day – warm and sunny – so Mum and I set to work mid morning and managed to get a surprising amount done before lunch.

At the back of the room stood an antique Singer sewing table (a gift from said friend) which I haven’t had a chance to look at properly, as it had been stuck behind boxes. The table had a rubber matting stapled (I know, it hurt me to see) over the surface and upon gently removing this, I was amazed and delighted to find the original sewing machine inside.

IMG_0342

I’m still so excited about this discovery, as I LOVE antiques and vintage items. I love to imagine the stories they could tell – all that history – and feel they have a real sense of soul. My plan is to lovingly restore the sewing machine and it’s table to its former glory. The only part missing is the metal cover where the spool sits under the foot, so I’ll need to investigate where I can get a replacement. I’m also going to research its history, as I have no idea how old it is.

Sorry, I’ve got to stop now – head hurting too much, so I’m going to close my eyes and feel happy about owning a little piece of history.

285  days to go

285 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£258.68 to raise for Save the Children

 If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to Save the Children.

Each year 8 million children never reach their 5th birthday. Most die from easily preventable diseases.

 Save the Children works in 120 countries around the world helping to ensure more children live to celebrate their 5th birthday and beyond, wherever they are. 

To find out more, or to make a donation, please click on the link below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


4 thoughts on “A Little Piece Of History – Day 80 of The Pollyanna Plan

Leave a Reply

