Squeaky Clean Dogs On A Wild Flower Walk – Day 79 of The Pollyanna Plan

As I threw back the curtains this morning, I was greeted by bright blue skies and warm sunshine. Now, that’s more like it! In fact, the temperature soon soared to 25 degrees (Celcius) – a very welcome relief from the cold and damp of the past few months.

This could mean only one thing – Bath time for the dogs! Donning our flip flops and rolling up our trousers, my Mum and I set to work in the garden, shampooing and rinsing, first a rather worried looking Bojangles, and then a very reluctant Jude. Believe me, it’s a 2 man job (or in this case, a 2 woman job) as both our dogs do not like water.

Despite getting soaked and covered in wet dog hair (not a good look,) it felt wonderful to feel the warmth of the sun on my back as I scrubbed and my feet welcomed being out in the open air, finally liberated from socks and boots. I think the dogs appreciated it too -minus the water part- as they shed handfuls of their soft, downy winter coats. The garden looked as if it had been sprinkled with black and cream coloured candy floss by the time we had finished.

I’m pretty exhausted today, but I was not going to allow the fatigue to dampen my spirits, or to stop me from getting out and enjoying the glorious day. This morning, when my Mum was walking the dogs, she sent me a text message to say that we must do the wild flower walk with the dogs later that day, as it looked so beautiful. So, after my rest this afternoon, we set off on foot. Just a minute’s walk from our front door, we were already surrounded by lush countryside.

IMG_0335

A rare pic of me – among the almond trees with Jude and Bojangles

But, I wasn’t expecting the sight that awaited me down the path – Fields and fields of wild flowers, as far as the eye could see. It was truly spectacular!

IMG_0332

   Wild poppies

IMG_0323


Day 79, Reason 79: Today I feel so blessed to have such a beautiful, wild flower walk right on my doorstep
 

IMG_0330

Two squeaky clean dogs on a wild flower walk

286  days to go

286 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£258.68 to raise for Save the Children

 If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to Save the Children.

Each year 8 million children never reach their 5th birthday. Most die from easily preventable diseases.

 Save the Children works in 120 countries around the world helping to ensure more children live to celebrate their 5th birthday and beyond, wherever they are. 

To find out more, or to make a donation, please click on the link below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


5 thoughts on “Squeaky Clean Dogs On A Wild Flower Walk – Day 79 of The Pollyanna Plan

Leave a Reply

