Blueberry-less, Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes: A Baking Experiment – Day 76 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 76, Reason 76: Today I’m so happy I have discovered a recipe for something sweet and delicious made from foods I can actually eat.

Since discovering last week that I am highly intolerant to a ridiculous number of foods, including ALL grains, eggs and dairy, among other things, I’ve been at a bit of a loss as to what on earth to eat. I’ve found it particularly hard to give up the gluten free cakes and biscuits (cookies) I had been eating for sweet treats.

So, I was delighted when I came across Mary’s blog, “Simple and Merry“, a few days ago, which contains recipes made from foods I CAN eat. And this afternoon, as the cake craving began to rise, I thought it was high time to try my hand at a little baking experiment. If you’ve read my previous posts, you will know all too well that I am totally rubbish in the kitchen. But a girl needs to eat, especially if it’s something yummy.

Handily, the Simple and Merry blog has a section entitled, Treats, (just what I was looking for) and I found a recipe for Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes which looked like an easy one to start with… apart from the fact I didn’t have any blueberries. Oh well, they would have to be blueberry-less.

The basic ingredients are coconut, lemon and maple syrup. Again, I didn’t have any maple syrup, so I used honey as a substitute. Nothing like a bit of freestyling when it comes to baking, eh?! I also don’t have a very powerful blender – I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve never even used it – so the poor thing got a bit hot and bothered from all the hard work liquifying the coconut. In the end I had to give up, as the plastic part attached to the blade started to melt. But, it was nearly a liquid…maybe!

I also came unstuck with the baking power, as I’d bought some gluten free baking powder a few weeks ago, and happily opened the seal and was about to add it to the mixture when I realised that it contained corn. Damn it! So, I had to settle for some bicarbonate of soda instead. I hope it’s gluten free. I’ve just googled it and yes, it is. Phew!

I think the oven was a little too hot as well (my calculations from Fahrenheit into Celcius  might not have been too accurate – maths is NOT my strong point… neither is cooking) as they look much browner than the picture on Mary’s blog. BUT, I have just tried one and they are delicious! So yummy! I really wasn’t expecting that and I’m feeling pretty chuffed with myself. Thank you, Mary. 🙂

Think I may have to stick a new food processor on my vision board for next time though!

IMG_0306

Ok, so they’re not really meant to look like this, but they taste REALLY good!

289  days to go

289 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£258.68 to raise for Save the Children

 If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to Save the Children.

To find out more, or to make a donation, please click on the link below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


5 thoughts on “Blueberry-less, Lemon Blueberry Cupcakes: A Baking Experiment – Day 76 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Sooo glad they worked for you! A good (11 cup) Food processor will make it so much easier. And they are really good cold. 🙂 Have a great day! 🙂

  2. Ha ha, good for you for persisting! I was cracking up reading that. Can you really replace baking powder with baking soda? I thought they were rather different animals, but I dunno.

    I’d give that a try for myself, if I didn’t just HATE coconut. I use coconut oil as a supplement and a lotion, but I have to gag it down. Yucko. They look good, though! 🙂

    1. Hehe! I’m glad I gave you a laugh. You know what? I had no idea what the difference between baking powder and baking soda is. I had to rely on Mr Google for help. Turns out, I used the right stuff after all, as the recipe says use baking soda and I used bicarbonate of soda. Result!

      Shame you hate coconut, as they really are a delicious sweet treat! I wasn’t a big fan of coconut before, but I’m growing to love it…probably out of necessity!! 🙂

      1. Oh, okay. Sometimes baking soda is used with vinegar (or I suppose lemon) in baking, and the acid reaction causes the item to rise. I have a cake recipe like that.

        I wish I liked coconut too, since it’s used in so many Paleo recipes! But I never have. 😦

Leave a Reply

