Unexpected Gifts – Day 75 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 75 of The Pollyanna Plan did not have the most promising of starts. Nothing terrible happened, but little niggling events and circumstances began to accumulate.

1) I woke at 7:30 (that’s A.M) having been awake long into the night. Yuck!

2) Even staying in bed for 2 hours after I’d woken, trying to get back to sleep, didn’t help me to feel any better . I’m still feeling feverish, groggy, headachy and drained. Yuck, Yuck!

(However, I must add that, whilst still lying in bed, I made myself play the Gratitude Game so that I wouldn’t be getting out of bed in a truly bad mood and I also declared out loud that “something great will happen to me today.” Always worth a shot!)

3) I received an email from the customer I had made 2 handmade items for, to say that the box I had sent them in had been completely dented and one of the items had been squashed . I’d packed them so carefully and had written FRAGILE in big red letters all over the box, so I felt totally gutted, as I always try to provide the best possible service to my customers. 😦

4) I received a letter from my bank to say they were downgrading my account, as I don’t deposit enough money into it per month – I’ve had this account for 16 years and they’re telling me this NOW! Grrr!

However, I was well aware that if I continued to allow these things to make me feel  cross, peeved and generally fed up, no good would come of it. Everything I’ve ever learnt about The Law of Attraction says that the feelings you put out act as a magnet for what you get back in life and I was putting out some pretty lousy feelings.

Even though I had plenty of things I should have been getting on with (writing to the bank, being one of them,) I decided I’d be much better off working on turning around my bad mood. I’ve been meaning to make myself a vision board for a while now, with pictures of all the things I’d like to achieve in my life, but I keep putting it at the bottom of my to-do-list. Today I realised that it should actually be at the top of my list if I really want to start manifesting some great results.

So, I got out a pile of old magazines and started flicking through them for inspiration, looking for pictures and photos to cut out for my board. To begin with, I really couldn’t find anything I was interested in (guess, I was still feeling too grumpy) but after a while, I came across a photo of a woman jumping for joy and looking super healthy and well. Just what I was looking for, as good health is my number 1 priority. After that, I began to find more and more pictures to cut out and even managed to break into a smile.

Still not feeling well, I headed back to bed after lunch for a rest. I couldn’t sleep, so I ended up reading through some blog posts online and I came across a post entitled, “A Successful ‘God Experiment'” about someone who had asked The Universe/God, to bring them an unexpected gift or blessing within 48 hours. Thinking that this sounded fun and exactly what I needed to cheer me up today, I made a request out loud for an unexpected surprise today.

And you’ll never guess what happened… Just minutes after making this request, my Mum returned home from the shops with a big smile on her face and pulled out from behind her back what she called a “Spring Stocking”  – just like a Christmas stocking, filled with lots of lovely goodies, but much more unexpected. I was over the moon and so surprised. I won’t bore you with a complete list of everything I got,  but I did get some knickers with flying pigs on them, which made me laugh out loud. (Can’t believe I’ve told you that though!)

Christmas Gift

Day 75, Reason 75: Today I am over the moon about my unexpected gifts.

I hadn’t told my Mum about the intention I’d put out into The Universe this morning and she couldn’t have known about my request for a surprise, as she wasn’t home. She was just as stunned as I was when I told her all about it.

So, thank you to my lovely Mum for making my day and thank you to the Universe for listening to me! 🙂

Oh and you know what, I’ve given my customer advice on how she might fix her purchase and if it doesn’t work, I’ll happily make her a new item. It’s not the end of the world!

And I’ve just read through the small print of the letter from the bank (I switch off at small print) and I’ve discovered that the differences between the downgraded account and the account I have now are minimal and won’t effect me at all.

Funny what a change of perspective can do! 😉

290  days to go

290 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£258.68 to raise for Save the Children

 If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to Save the Children.

To find out more, or to make a donation, please click on the link below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


7 thoughts on “Unexpected Gifts – Day 75 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Ha, it makes me smile how similar we are. I had a crap night too (which is rare for me these days), so I’ve also been busy trying to turn the day around, with good success. You have such a lovely attitude, it inspires even me, and therefore I send you a virtual stocking full of goodies also – although the knickers in mine would have cute monkeys on them. 🙂

  2. I love reading your posts. You fill me with positivity and I realise that is your main goal for yourself. I often find I have things to sort and deal with and it is ALL too easy to let this negative frustration infiltrate your day and then one thing after another goes wrong.

    I had planned to create a vision board this year – I was going to get around it – maybe it should be the 1st thing I do when I get home.
    Thanks for another lovely, bright silver lining – Keep going – you’re doing well and making many others happy along the way x

    1. It’s really kind of you to say that. Thank you! I’d love to think that I might be sharing some happiness and positivity through The Pollyanna Plan. Just the thought of that makes me happy! 🙂

      Definitely get started on your vision board – even if you just get one picture/photo a day, it will really inspire you. Please let me know how you get on. x

  3. Just goes to show how anything can change in an instant for the better, the way the day starts doesn’t have to be the way our day goes. I love your story. Life is always full of blessings/gifts, we just need to ask for them and be open to receiving. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

