Inter-networking – Day 74 of The Pollyanna Plan

world-500

The power and scope of the Internet to connect and inform people astounds me. I mean seriously, it wasn’t all that long ago that we had no way of accessing the information that we now have available at our fingertips 24/7. When you stop to think about it, it really is an incredible invention.

Speaking of invention, I felt slightly ashamed when watching the opening ceremony of the London 2012 Olympics last summer, which starred Tim Berners-Lee (the inventor of the World Wide Web,) as I’d never even heard of him, let alone realised he was British. For an invention that has such a huge impact on how we live our lives, I think we should all at least know his name.

Anyway, I’m getting sidetracked. Today started something like this: I’m still not well (but not as bad as yesterday – progress is good,) so, this morning, I powered up my faithful laptop and began doing some research. I read a really informative post on Sewfie Blog a few days ago about how to network through Facebook to promote and share your handmade business. Thank you Sewfie!

Now, I have to confess that I am not a fan of Facebook or social media at all. I don’t like it on so many levels and the only reason I have a Facebook profile in the first place is that I understand the benefits of Facebook for online businesses. I’ve had a Facebook business page for my handmade business for a while now and have even tried my hand (not that successfully) at Facebook pay per click advertising. But, I’ve been looking for a cheaper (by cheaper, I mean free) way to get my business out there AND also to network with fellow creative types.

I’m not going to pretend I have a clue how Facebook’s Edgerank Algorithm works, but what I do know is that nowadays Facebook only shows a small percentage of your page posts (that’s your business page, not your profile) to people who have liked your page. However, the more people who connect, like and comment on your page and your posts, the higher that percentage becomes.

So, following Sewfie’s advice, today I joined a couple of Facebook networking pages and was amazed at the results I’ve had already.

Day 74, Reason 74: Today I’m so very grateful for the incredible networking power of the Internet.

These networking pages work by sharing and promoting people’s businesses through their Facebook pages and just by interacting, posting questions and liking a few business pages that I genuinely liked, I received 11 more likes on my Facebook page in just a few hours. Result! I was so pleased! Even better than this though, is that I connected with some really kind people who offered me help and gave me advice – much like the lovely people who are following and supporting me through this blog. 🙂

It’s great for me, as due to my illness, I’ve been housebound for so many years and rarely get to see or interact with people. So, being able to “make friends” and network with like-minded people through the internet really is a blessing.

Thank you Tim Berners-Lee and all the other people who have worked to make the world wide web the place it is today.

291  days to go

291 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£258.68 to raise for Save the Children

 If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to Save the Children.

Each year 8 million children never reach their 5th birthday. Most die from easily preventable diseases like diarrhoea, malaria and pneumonia – especially if they are already weak and undernourished.

 Save the Children help to ensure more children live to celebrate their 5th birthday and beyond, wherever they are. 

To find out more, or to make a donation, please click on the link below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


4 thoughts on “Inter-networking – Day 74 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. I too was embarrassed that I had no idea about Tim Berners-Lee – you would think we would all sing it from the rooftops too eh?!
    Here’s to people who have made our lives bigger and better. Changing the world – one seed at a time 🙂

Leave a Reply

