Goodbye Grey Sky, Hello Blue – Day 72 of The Pollyanna Plan

Today began with a lie in. It is the weekend after all and I have technically been working this week  – it feels so good to say that! 🙂 Also, I had yet another bad night so needed the extra time in bed. I long to be able to sleep through the night – even staying asleep longer than 1 hour at a time would be a start. But, never mind, because when I did surface this morning, I was delighted to find that the clouds and rain that have hung heavy in the skies for weeks had vanished.

Day 72, Reason 72: Today I’m so happy that blue skies have returned.

Even though I felt pretty exhausted, it would have been a great waste not to venture out into the great outdoors to make the most of the glorious day. So, off we went to the beach for a walk  – that’s me, my Mum and our 2 rescue dogs.

IMG_0289

A cold wind was blowing, but it felt wonderful to feel the sun on my face and look up into the deep blue. There’s something about a vast, beautiful, blue sky that lifts my spirits, brings a smile to my face and speaks to my soul.

IMG_0293

 X marks the spot – or is is a kiss from the heavens?

IMG_0297

Unfortunately, this afternoon I’m not feeling very well – feverish, shivery and groggy -and I had to return to bed for a few hours. I’m now curled up on the sofa having just watched my fix of Doctor Who for the week (it was another good one, in case you’re wondering!)

It’s all too tempting to want to feel down and fed up with this deterioration in my health, or to stress and worry about what could have caused it. But, I’m being strict with myself and focusing on the positive.

Like the return of blue skies today, I know that good health, wellbeing and happy days will soon return to me.

293  days to go

293 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£258.68 to raise for Save the Children

 If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to Save the Children. To find out more, please click on the link below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


2 thoughts on “Goodbye Grey Sky, Hello Blue – Day 72 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Lovely! I’m glad you got out today. Don’t be concerned if you don’t get better right away – it took my body weeks to get used to being on a very low-carb diet, and there were some unpleasant symptoms along the way. It’s a big shift from glucose burning to fat burning, but in the end it will probably work a lot better for you. So just take it easy and try to stick to it. You’ll do fine. 🙂

    Oh, I forgot to say that things like coconut oil and apple cider vinegar might be helpful to you on this diet. I make a detoxing tonic most mornings that is composed of 1 tablespoon of coconut oil, 1 tablespoon of apple cider vinegar (organic with “the mother”), 1/8 tsp of hot cayenne powder, and the juice of half a lemon. I mix this with a little V-8 juice, and warm it in the microwave for about 30 seconds. I drink it with a straw to avoid getting the acids on my teeth.

    It’s very warming and invigorating, and has a lot of health benefits – especially the cayenne pepper, which I have found to be really helpful. It kind of opens up your whole system and stimulates circulation and nutrition delivery to the cells. You might do a little reading about it and see what you think. I find I can’t exceed the 1/8 tsp, though, or it has unpleasant digestive effects. You might be able to tolerate more, though.

    1. Thank you for your words of encouragement. I’m finding it quite tough, but it’s good to know I’m not alone. I’m sure I’ll get used to the new diet – it’s just a matter of adjustment.

      I already use coconut oil and apple cider vinegar in my meals. I don’t think I can tolerate cayenne pepper, as I get strong reactions to peppers, chilies and other spicy foods. I will look into it though!

      Thank you again. I really appreciate your support. 🙂

Leave a Reply

