New Life In Progress – Day 70 of The Pollyanna Plan

new-life-in-progress

Day 70, Reason 70:  I feel overjoyed that today is the start of the rest of my life.

I’ve spent most of the day working on the 6 handmade items that I’ve been commissioned to make for a bridal party. In fact, I have just finished, which is why I’m later than usual writing this blog post. I’ve really enjoyed the feeling of being busy and working under pressure – something I haven’t experienced for a long time, due to many years of illness.

I wanted to work all day, but after  yet another rubbish night’s sleep last night, I needed to rest this afternoon. I was just falling into a dreamy doze when through the fog of slumber, I heard the sound of the postman’s motorbike. I pinged wide awake and shot out of bed to the front door like a bat out of hell.

You see, I have been waiting for 3 and a half long weeks for the results of my food intolerance blood test – I was told that I’d get them back in 2 weeks, so I have been lying in wait for the postman ever since. As soon, as I heard the rattle of letters falling into the postbox, I just knew that today was the day.

You’re probably thinking, what’s the big deal? Well, let me explain: I’ve believed for a long time now that food intolerances may play a huge role in my ill health. I’ve managed to pinpoint foods that I have a very obvious bad reactions to, like gluten and dairy, but the sneaky thing about food intolerances is that they have a wide range of weird and wonderful symptoms (some you wouldn’t necessarily associate with a reaction to food) and these symptoms can occur several days AFTER eating that particular food, making them very difficult to detect. So, 3 and a half weeks ago, I finally had the (extremely expensive) food intolerance blood test to find out once and for all what I can and cannot eat.

Back to today – There in the post was the envelope from the lab and I could hardly contain my anticipation as I sat down on the sofa to study my results. At first, I felt a little disappointment, as it turns out that I’m highly intolerant to most forms of grains – wheat, rice, oats, even corn, which I thought I was ok with and which I’ve been eating ALL this time as a gluten substitute. I can eat rye, weirdly as I’m sure it contains gluten, but gluten is one of the things that worsens my autoimmune condition, so that’s off the menu too. What on earth am I going to eat to replace carbs now? I’d be really grateful if anyone has any suggestions.

In total there are 40 foods out of the 200 that are tested that I’m intolerant to – there were some real surprises, like soy, peas, peaches, nectarines and cinnamon. There goes my honey and cinnamon cold cure remedy! And I mean,who’s intolerant to peaches?!

BUT, then I got to thinking that if there are 40 foods on the list I CAN’T eat, there are 160 foods that I CAN eat. Yippee!! I CAN eat all meats, fish (with the exception of shellfish) and most fruit and veggies, as well as a few nuts and seeds.

And by far the very best thing is that now I know for sure which foods I’m intolerant to (and have antibodies against) I shall cut them out of my diet and then I know that I’m going to be feeling a whole lot healthier and stronger. Today is the start of the rest of my life – Bye bye foods that make me feel crap. Hello to a life filled with happiness, positivity and good health. 🙂

295  days to go

295 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£258.68 to raise for Save the Children

 If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to Save the Children. To find out more, please click on the link below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


6 thoughts on “New Life In Progress – Day 70 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. God, you are sooo much like me. I’m in exactly the same boat. I can have hardly any carbs at all, including fruits, except in tiny quantities. I guess I just do what you’re doing – I don’t eat those foods, because the price of ill health is no longer worth it.

    You CAN get flours made with things like coconut, almond, flax seed, etc., and we sometimes use those for breadings and such. My boyfriend (who does most of the cooking) uses spaghetti squash as a pasta substitute for me (you can bake one and freeze it in little batches). I have a NutriBullet and make whole meals of the shakes, which can be quite tasty and filling. I eat lots of eggs, which don’t seem to bother me.

    My daily diet is usually eggs for breakfast, a big veggie smoothie and some cheese/seeds for lunch, and meat/veg/salad for dinner. I can handle a small square of dark chocolate for dessert. On rare occasions I can go out and eat “normal” food if I have a small amount of liquor with it, which seems to mediate the reaction. But I know I’ll pay for it for a few days with less-than-optimum energy, so I save it for special occasions.

    Try doing some reading about the Paleo and Primal diets, if you haven’t already, and get some cookbooks on the subject – marksdailyapple.com is a good resource. I would say that the hardest part about this diet is keeping weight on – I’m thinner than I’d like to be (5’10” and 133lbs), but at least it has leveled off. I’m just happy to be a functional energetic human again, and you will be too! 🙂

    Btw, where did you get this food intolerance test? From a doctor, or did you do it from home? Just curious.

    1. Thank you so much for all your suggestions. I’m going to look into everything you’ve mentioned – I’ve only heard of the Paleo diet since starting this blog and don’t know much about it yet. I have a lot of research to do!

      Unfortunately, I can’t eat eggs or dairy, so really I will stick to a meat, fish and veg diet. Like you, I’m thinner than I’d like to be, so I’m a little worried about losing weight. I’ll have to spend my days grazing, I think! 🙂

      I got the test done at a lab, as prescribed by my doctor and had a second opinion about it’s accuracy from a holistic healthcare practitioner based in USA. She wanted me to use a very good lab in US, but I couldn’t send my blood by mail!!!

      Thanks again for all your help and advice. 🙂 x

  2. For many years like you, I suffered from a lot of allergies and food intolerance until I learned about the benefits of vitamin E. Since I started eating sunflower seeds/nuts which have a load of vit E my symptoms have decreased a whole lot to almost none at all for most foods. I buy Good Sense Sunflower Nuts, Roasted No Salt and they have gotten to be a part of my life. I hope that helps. Best of luck 🙂

    1. Thank you very much taking the time to comment and pass on some advice. I really appreciate it! Unfortunately, I’m intolerant to sunflower seeds/oil – I always used to use sunflower oil to cook with and ate sunflower seeds often, so I was totally shocked to discover that. Do you know any other foods high in Vitamin E, as I’d like to give it a go? Thanks again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

