An Act Of Kindness – Day 69 of The Pollyanna Plan

 “A single act of kindness throws out roots in all directions, and the roots spring up and make new trees.” Amelia Earhart

Thank you, thank you, thank you to the person who last night so kindly sponsored The Pollyanna Plan by donating to my chosen charity, Save the Children. You have made my day! 🙂

I mentioned in yesterday’s post how my aim was to get my first donation from a stranger in the next few weeks. I must add that “stranger” feels like the wrong word to use; what I meant was “someone who does not know me personally.” Maybe that in itself isn’t right either, as I feel as if we are getting to know each other through this blog, so let’s rephrase it to “someone I have never met before.” That’s better!

So, that was the intention I put out there yesterday and you can imagine my delight when, upon waking, an email pinged through on my phone to let me know that one of The Pollyanna Plan’s followers had very generously made a donation.

It was the perfect start to today and helped to put me in a fantastic, happy mood – quite a feat, seeing as I hardly slept last night and am still suffering the bad effects of a food intolerance reaction.

Day 69, Reason 69: Today I am so thankful for the sponsorship The Pollyanna Plan received for Save the Children from someone I have never met before. 

I’ve been thinking about this act of kindness as I have struggled through the day in a haze of exhaustion. (This morning, I worked on the commissioned handmade pieces I am in the middle of making and had to go back to bed this afternoon, as I was feeling too drained to continue.) But receiving sponsorship for my fundraising efforts has kept me feeling positive and happy, when I’ve been tempted to let myself sink into feeling low.

However, the positive effect that this donation has had on me today, is nothing compared to what the money will do to help children around the world.

Each year 8 million children never reach their 5th birthday. Most die from easily preventable diseases like diarrhoea, malaria and pneumonia – especially if they are already weak and undernourished.

By supporting Save the Children, you’re helping to ensure more children live to celebrate their 5th birthday and beyond, wherever they are. You really can’t get better than that!

296  days to go

296 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£258.68 to raise for Save the Children

So far, I’ve raised 29% of my target of £365 🙂 If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to Save the Children.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


2 thoughts on “An Act Of Kindness – Day 69 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Aww, I’m sorry that you’re still not feeling well – it really sounds like diet is a major factor for you, healthwise, like it is for me. I spent over twenty years figuring out what I can safely eat (not much), and what I can’t (everything else), and feeling like you do now, so I completely get it. I don’t know how I used to get through the days, I really don’t. But things are vastly better now, and I want to give you hope that it can be done. I know you’ll be feeling better soon too! And it’s really a great cause you’re supporting. I hope you get the full amount eventually! 🙂

  2. Thank you very much! It’s great to know that you are so much better now. It really gives me hope.

    I got my food intolerance blood test results back today (see today’s post) so now I know for definite what I can and can’t eat. It’s a momentous day! I’ve got a feeling I’ll be feeling much better very soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

