Highs And Lows – Day 63 of The Pollyanna Plan

What a mixed bag today has been! Happiness, fantastic achievements and tragedy, all rolled into the past 24 hours.

This morning, I woke feeling positive and happy and, best of all, a little bit healthier. I hadn’t slept particularly well (I never do,) but I was delighted to feel a slight spring in my step and a sparkle behind my eyes.

I was eager to set to work crafting the item I have recently been commissioned to make. It’s been so long since I’ve been well enough to work, it felt amazing to have a job to do, and even better that I was getting to use my creative skills. I sang along to music as I worked, and laughed out loud when Dolly Parton’s “9 to 5” came on. More like 11 to 1, in my case, but still, it’s more than I’ve been well enough to do for a very long time. I love Dolly!

So, there I was working away in my little happy bubble, when I received a message to say that someone I knew had been killed in a tragic accident. Like the other day, when I found out that my neighbour had died suddenly, I didn’t know the person very well, but it was still a big shock and I’m so very sad for the family.

However, although my day was tinged by sadness, I do have reasons that I can feel extremely grateful for.

Day 63, Reason 63: Today I am incredibly grateful that my health is improving and I have managed a whole day without my usual afternoon nap.

It really is a miracle! I can’t remember the last time I’ve been able to get through the day without having to rest or sleep.

The weather is very temperamental at the moment, but this afternoon, the sun made an appearance, so to make the most of being awake and this wonderful improvement in my health, my Mum and I took the dogs down to the beach for a short walk. It was glorious and warm and the sea air helped me deal with the sad news.

The dogs had a great time, as always. Bojangles is very amusing, as he gets sooooo excited about going in the car – trembling and whimpering with excitement – both for the drive there AND for the drive home. The day we rescued him from the streets, as a poor, abandoned, starving dog, we couldn’t persuade him to get in the car, not even with food. He was terrified and we had to gently coax him to walk back to our house, which was quite a long way. It seems that he’s completely let go of that phobia now and going for a ride in the car is his most favourite thing. It’s wonderful how dogs live in the moment – they are a great example to us all.

IMG_0271

Can you guess which one is Bojangles? 🙂

p.s Just heard from a friend that she is expecting a baby – something to feel joyful about after all. 🙂

302 days to go

302 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£271.82 to raise for Save The Children

If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save the Children.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


3 thoughts on “Highs And Lows – Day 63 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Hey, I’m really sorry to hear about the tragedy. That’s really awful. I’m so glad to hear you’re doing better healthwise, though. I know how lovely even little bits of improvement can be when you don’t feel well. Try to build on it! Every day in every way, you’re getting better and better and better… 🙂

Leave a Reply

