Regaining My Independence – Day 62 of The Pollyanna Plan

clouds-fashion-freedom-girl-photography-wind-favim-com-45342

It has been months since I’ve been well enough to leave the house alone. On days when my health improves slightly, my lovely Mum has taken me out for a drive, or we’ll go for a short walk with the dogs, but I can’t remember the last time I felt strong enough to go out on my own.

When I woke up this morning, the sun was shining, and despite a rather bad night’s sleep, I knew that today was the day to regain some independence. I’ve noticed a steady improvement in my health over the last few days, which I’m thrilled about, so seizing the moment, I decided to take my car out for a long-overdue drive.

Day 62, Reason 62: Today I am so happy that I felt well enough to drive my car and venture out into the world on my own.

I was amazed and very thankful that my car started first time (I thanked it out loud for this) and putting it into gear, I drove off without knowing where I was headed. I just wanted to enjoy the liberating experience of being able to drive again. I wound down the windows, feeling the breeze blowing through my hair and cranked up the music, singing along loudly.

I ended up at the beach – surprise, surprise – and went for a short walk along the boardwalk and through the undulating dunes. I marvelled at the beauty of the dune flowers, the ducks in the salt water lake and the colours of the ocean and sky. I felt so happy just to be alive, healthy and able to appreciate all this world has to offer. I would have loved to have stayed all morning, but I had work to do. Even the concept of having work to do is a new and exciting prospect for me. Things are definitely on the up!

303 days to go

303 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£271.82 to raise for Save The Children

If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save The Children.

The reason I have chosen to fundraise for Save the Children is because of the incredible work they do in 120 countries, saving children’s lives, fighting for their rights and helping them fulfill their potential. I believe that every child deserves the chance to shine.

To donate safely and securely, please click on the Just Giving link below.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

You can donate from anywhere in the world, using any currency.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


4 thoughts on “Regaining My Independence – Day 62 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Hey, that’s great! I had fun just reading about it. Funny you should mention the car starting up – I don’t go out much myself since I work at home, so I went down and started my car up at lunchtime, just to make sure it still would. Didn’t go anywhere, though. Maybe I should! You inspire me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

