Better Days Are Coming – Day 58 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 58 of The Pollyanna Plan has been the hardest yet. Here’s a quick summary of the past 24 hours:

Late last night, I heard the tragic news that one of my neighbours had died suddenly. Even though I didn’t know them all that well, it was still a real shock and has left me feeling very sad. Logically, I know that death is a natural part of life, but it just doesn’t seem right. I can’t get my head around how a person can be here one minute and gone the next.

Also, physically I’m feeling a lot worse again today, with this throat infection making a most unwelcome comeback. All I want to do is sleep, but I can’t even do that due to a mouth full of ulcers and a very sore throat that kept me awake most of the night. No fun at all! Added to that, there’s some family drama going on, which, even though technically I have nothing to do with it, still affects me.

I’ve been trying to cheer myself up throughout the day, but to no avail. I know that I’ve got a million things I should be grateful for, but I’m not feeling them and, quite frankly, I just want to curl up and have a good cry.

I thought if I started typing this blog post, it might inspire me, and maybe, just maybe I’m starting to feel the spark of something positive emerging from the gloom.

Day 58, Reason 58: I am so grateful for my unwavering faith that better days are coming

Unknown

Even though at times (like today) it may not feel like it, I’m well aware that nothing lasts forever and that this too shall pass. I’ve just been reading back over some of my blog posts from the past 57 days and it’s really remarkable how things can improve and turn around in a very short space of time.

I’m still as committed to The Pollyanna Plan as ever and there’s no way I’m letting a bad day derail me. I’ve been reminding myself of all the positive things I’ve achieved on my journey so far. Just writing this post has cheered me up immensely and I’m feeling a lot more optimistic now. I’ve even managed a smile. 🙂

“Be strong, because things will get better. It might be stormy now, but it can’t rain forever.”

307 days to go

307 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£271.82 to raise for Save The Children

The Pollyanna Plan is already making a HUGE, positive difference to my life and I hope to be able to make a positive difference to children’s lives around the world, by raising money for Save the Children.

This week,  Save the Children launched an appeal for Syria alongside 13 other charities as part of the Disasters Emergency Committee (DEC). Together they plan to raise urgent funds to reach children and families with food, safe water, medicine and clothing throughout Syria and in neighbouring countries.

If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to Save The Children.

To donate safely and securely, please click on the Just Giving link below. 

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

You can donate from anywhere in the world, using any currency.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


5 thoughts on “Better Days Are Coming – Day 58 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Great that you are not allowing yourself to be derailed by days like these… and there it is – the secret of a positive mental attitude – which if you allow it to can overide the doom and gloom and keep you hanging onto silver threads – like the hope for better days.
    It can be hard when people we only vaguely know pass on, because we didn’t know them well enough to be part of the mourning process and yet they had a walk on part in our lives. It serves as a reminder of mortality, our own mortality.
    Well done hon for grasping the silver linings – there are better days to come and you are going to be blogging about them too! x

      1. Awww glad my words helped. My blog (as you know) is about writing -I don’t put too much extra on there (apart from the current Slice of Life Challenge) there is more to your story that I can relate to than you will ever know. I also feel that we started our journeys around the same time and I love coming and reading how you are doing.
        So I really do feel happiness when I read that you are having a good day – or that you can see some sweetness in the sourest of days. Keep going x

Leave a Reply

