A Dog In A Bowl – Day 57 of The Pollyanna Plan

Today, I’ve had a pretty rubbish day health wise. On top of fighting off this throat infection, I’ve also had to deal with a food intolerance reaction – stomach pains kept me awake most of the night and I’ve been feeling off colour, exhausted and completely drained all day. Blah! I can’t wait to get the results of the food intolerance blood test back (see Day 46 of The Pollyanna Plan,) as it will tell me once and for all what I can and cannot eat. Roll on next week!

I spent the morning sorting through a few boxes of my stuff I’d found buried in the store room – old photos and cards I’ve been given over the years. Going through my keepsakes brought back lots of memories and it was great to remind myself of healthier times. I think I’m going to put one of the photos of “healthy me” up in my bedroom to give me something to aim for.  However bad I feel today, I know I will get there. 🙂

After lunch, I had to return to bed, and as I was just settling down to sleep when my Mum knocked softly on my bedroom door. I’d been wondering what on earth my reason to feel glad/happy/joyful would be today, when Mum passed me her phone, giggling as she did so.

There on the screen was a photo of our dog, Jude, sitting in a bowl!

Photo0127

Let me explain: A few years ago, we started feeding a stray cat who has since adopted us. She lives outdoors and we made her a bed in a bowl to sleep in. Jude had been put outside this morning whilst my Mum was Spring cleaning, and as Jude loves to lie in her bed, we had also put her bed out for her, where she’d been happily curled up all morning. When Mum had finishing the cleaning, she moved Jude’s bed back into the living room, leaving Jude outside for a few more minutes, and upon her return, Mum discovered Jude trying to fit into the cat’s bed. She’s such a funny dog!

Day 57, Reason 57: Today I’m grateful for spontaneous laughter at a dog in a bowl.

As soon as I set eyes on the photo, I burst out laughing and couldn’t stop. It felt so good to be laughing out loud and I’ve continued to look at the photo throughout the day to keep my spirits up. Who’d have thought a dog in a bowl would be my happy reason for the day? I hope this post brightens up your day too. 🙂

308 days to go

308 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£271.82 to raise for Save The Children

The Pollyanna Plan is already making a HUGE, positive difference to my life and I hope to be able to make a positive difference to children’s lives around the world, by raising money for Save the Children.

Yesterday,  Save the Children launched an appeal for Syria alongside 13 other charities as part of the Disasters Emergency Committee (DEC). Together they plan to raise urgent funds to reach children and families with food, safe water, medicine and clothing throughout Syria and in neighbouring countries.

If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to Save The Children.

To donate safely and securely, please click on the Just Giving link below. You can donate from anywhere in the world, using any currency.

100% of all sponsorship money goes directly to Save The Children.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


Leave a Reply

