Happiness In A Box Set – Day 55 of The Pollyanna Plan

Today I’m feeling decidedly fluey, achey and groggy and have been tucked up in bed most of the day. Having spent so many months/years ill in bed, this is not something I look upon with much joy (I’m trying to avoid using the “H” word.) You see, I like to feel I’ve done something productive each day, even if I can’t do very much physically. However, embracing my new found outlook on life, I have refused to see being confined to bed as a negative and I have been focusing on getting the rest my body needs to heal. If it could hurry it along a bit, I’d be eternally grateful.

I managed to haul myself to the sofa this afternoon, still wearing my pj’s and dressing gown – there’s not chance of me getting dressed today – and I was looking for something to watch on TV that would cheer me up. No such luck! TV these days is dire, it’s all repeats of things I’ve seen before, or miserable, harrowing dramas, or cringey, tacky reality tv crap. And don’t get me started on the news! All this doom and gloom nowadays doesn’t do us any good in terms of  The Law of Attraction.

Ally McBeal2

What I felt like watching was Ally McBeal. I just love the mixture of kookiness, comedy, true life feelings and great music (not so keen on the dancing baby, but the earlier seasons are brilliant.)  It is guaranteed to make me laugh out loud, which is just what I need to help with the healing process. My favourite character is John Cage aka The Biscuit – I was trying his smile therapy today and it really does work. 🙂 Why don’t they make TV programmes like this anymore? It’s the same with Friends. I miss Friends!

Anyway, I digress. Where was I? Oh yeah, so, I was reminiscing about how I loved watching Ally McBeal, when I remembered that I still have an Amazon voucher, which my Aunt and her family sent me for Christmas. I didn’t know what to buy with it at the time (again, this is where I lack the shopping gene) so I was saving it for a rainy day. And it would seem that today is that day!

I have just ordered the Season 1 box set of Ally McBeal. Yey – thank you to my Aunt! You’ve got to love Amazon, when you can shop from the comfort of your own sofa without even having to get dressed. The internet really is a marvellous invention.

Day 55, Reason 55: Today I’m excited that I will soon be able to watch some uplifting, laugh out loud TV.

I can’t wait! Maybe I should start a campaign to bring back the fun, happiness and laughter to TV? Do you think it will catch on?!

310 days to go

310 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£271.82 to raise for Save The Children

The Pollyanna Plan is already making a HUGE, positive difference to my life and I hope to be able to make a positive difference to children’s lives around the world, by raising money for Save the Children.

Just £5.00 (5.85 EUR or 7.55 USD) will pay for enough Plumpy Nut to treat a severely malnourished child for 3 months. So little can do so much!

If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to Save The Children.

To donate safely and securely, please click on the Just Giving link below. You can donate from anywhere in the world, using any currency.

100% of all sponsorship money goes directly to Save The Children.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


Leave a Reply

