Shopping Can Be Fun (Occasionally) – Day 53 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 53, Reason 53: Today I am thrilled that for the first time in months, I felt well enough to go shopping.

shopping

I know that as a woman, the urge to shop should be in my genes (or maybe jeans,) but I have to confess that I’m really not much of a fan. I’m also bewildered by the whole handbag and shoes obsession. However, once in a while, shopping can be fun, as well as essential!

Today, I woke earlier than usual, so to make the most of the morning, my Mum and I decided to go shopping- something we both haven’t done for a long time. She also lacks the shopping gene, which makes us perfect shopping buddies, as we can whizz round a shop, pick out what we like and get out of there as quickly as possible.

As much as shopping isn’t exactly my favourite past time, it felt brilliant to be out and about, doing something “normal.” It was a beautiful, sunny, Spring day and the open air shopping centre was fairly quiet (just as I like it!) We wandered around the shops, choosing a few items to buy and I was delighted that, at long last, I’m not too skinny for most clothes. Hoorah!

I managed just over an hour of shopping, before my energy started to fade, but this is great progress for me. So, to celebrate, I bought myself a pretty dress in the sales (it was ridiculously cheap, but doesn’t look it) AND I was very daring and bought a bright pink lipstick.

It’s my aim to be able to wear them out this year. You see, I have a whole wardrobe of  lovely clothes that I never get to wear, having been ill and housebound for so long. (Most of these clothes were  kindly donated by my shopaholic sister – she definitely has the gene!)  I spend my days at home in the same old tracksuits, no make up, with my hair scraped back. Attractive, I know! So, I really can’t wait to be able to dress up and get out into the big, wide world.

Good health and nice clothes, here I come! 🙂

312 days to go

312 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£271.82 to raise for Save The Children

The Pollyanna Plan is already making a HUGE, positive difference to my life and I hope to be able to make a positive difference to children’s lives around the world. 

If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save The Children.

To find out more and to donate safely and securely, please click on the Just Giving link below. You can donate from anywhere in the world, using any currency.

100% of all sponsorship money goes directly to Save The Children.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


Leave a Reply

