The Dog Who Didn’t Know How To Play – Day 51 of The Pollyanna Plan

A few months ago, we found another stray dog roaming the countryside. He’d been abandoned, he was starving and had a broken front leg that had already set, so he walked with a limp. We discovered later, that he also had heartworm, which he is now being treated for. You can read more about his treatment on my blog post for Day 8 of The Pollyanna Plan.

One day, I shall tell you his full story, but today, something wonderful happened that I’d like to share with you.

Bojangles is one of the sweetest natured dogs I’ve ever met. He had obviously suffered cruel treatment in the past, yet in spite of all he has been through, he is so loving and has such a gentle soul. However, we soon discovered a sad fact about Bojangles – He didn’t know how to play.

IMG_0214

Bojangles

I remember a few days after we rescued him, I was playing some music, (Robbie Williams, Candy to be precise) and I danced over to him, expecting him to react like our other rescue dog, Jude, who normally joins in wagging her tail and barking excitedly. But, Bojangles cowered and ran away with his tail between his legs.

Another day, my Mum was out in the garden with the dogs and threw a ball for them, and yet again Bojangles was terrified, turning tail and running away shaking with fear. I think he thought she was throwing it AT him, rather than FOR him to play with. She then tried rolling the ball gently near him, but he still ran away. He must have had stones thrown at him before. 😦

Jude tried playing with him a few times too, but he didn’t even know how to play with other dogs. It was very sad, but slowly over the past few months, we have been building Bojangles’ confidence and trust and trying to introduce him to the concept of playing.

So, let’s fast forward to today.

Day 51, Reason 51: I am overjoyed that for the first time ever, Bojangles played today

I’m feeling a bit better again (yey, my health seems to be improving every day) so this morning Mum and I took the dogs down to the beach for a walk. It was lovely to be down by the ocean and Bojangles and Jude were really excited too, running about, stopping in between to sniff all the new smells. It’s great to see Bojangles being able to run again, as he was on restricted exercise, which meant only being allowed to walk on his lead, for a month and a half due to the heartworm treatment.

Usually, Jude and Bojangles follow each other around on their walks, but tend not to interact. So, you can imagine our amazement and delight, when out of the blue, Bojangles initiated a game of chase with Jude. They were both having so much fun, tearing around, then stopping and jumping on each other, tails wagging madly, before careering off again.We nearly got bowled over a few times in the excitement (they are 2 big dogs), but we couldn’t help getting caught up in their enthusiasm. Bojangles even started barking with joy! I can’t describe how wonderful it was to see him playing at last. I think he was quite surprised at himself too! 🙂

IMG_0210

The beach today – the dogs were under the boardwalk at this point. I’m afraid that when they started playing, I was far too wrapped up in their joy to take a photo!

In other amazing news today… I received my second (extremely generous) Pollyanna Plan sponsorship donation for my chosen charity, Save the Children. Thank you so, so much. It means the world to me.

If you can find it in your heart, I’d be extremely grateful for any further sponsorship, no matter how small. Just £3  (that’s €3.50 or $4.50)  pays for life-saving treatment for eight children with diarrhoea. So little can do so much!

314 days to go

314 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£271.82 to raise for Save The Children

The Pollyanna Plan is already making a HUGE, positive difference to my life and I hope to be able to make a positive difference to children’s lives around the world. I believe that every child deserves the chance to shine.

If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save The Children.

You can donate safely and securely by clicking on the Just Giving link below from anywhere in the world, using any currency.

100% of all sponsorship money goes directly to Save The Children.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


One thought on “The Dog Who Didn’t Know How To Play – Day 51 of The Pollyanna Plan

Leave a Reply

