Getting Out And Meeting People – Day 50 of The Pollyanna Plan

Today is Day 50 of The Pollyanna Plan! That’s 50 whole days of finding a daily reason to feel glad/happy/joyful. Woohooooo!

And if that’s not cause enough for celebration, here is today’s reason:

Day 50, Reason 50: Today I’m delighted that I met more people in one morning than I’ve met in the past few months.

mzUuXr6

Health wise, I’m still not feeling the best, but I’m improving, so this morning I was determined to get out of the house and do something productive. My lovely Mum offered to chauffeur me, as I’m not up to driving yet, and off we set out into the big, wide world.

First on the to-do list was to visit my Dad, who I haven’t seen for ages. He was busy working, but it was good to have a quick catch up. I also came away with a box full of freshly picked oranges, lemons, clementines, grapefruit and broccoli from his garden.  Delicious! I love the taste of really fresh fruit and veg – it’s so much nicer than anything you can buy in supermarkets.

My next job was to go and introduce myself to the first clients staying in my Dad’s holiday apartment. I manage the bookings for the rentals, but due to my illness, I’m rarely able to meet clients myself – my Dad has to do it. So, it was wonderful to be able to go and check that they had settled in ok and have a chat with two very nice, friendly people.

Meeting new people is always a bit daunting for me, as due to my illness, I have been isolated and house bound  for so many years. I particularly dread being asked “what do you do?” as I find it demoralising to have to say that I’m not well enough to work. It makes me feel like a loser, even though I know I’m not.

I also don’t want to have to tell people about my illness, particularly because in terms of the Law of Attraction, talking about illness is just attracting more illness to you. Usually, I feel very awkward and nervous when asked the dreaded question, but, today it felt wonderful to be able to answer positively and with confidence that not only do I manage bookings for apartment rentals, I also have an online shop of my handcrafted items. They said, “oh wow, you’re an entrepreneur” and I thought, “oh wow, maybe I am!”

Then, on the way home, we happened to drive past a friend of my Mum’s, so stopped for a quick chat with her. The first thing she said to me was how much better I am looking. It made my day! 🙂

Meeting people, having not seen anyone apart from my Mum for soooo long, felt kind of surreal, but it also feels amazing to be slowly returning to the real world again.

315 days to go

315 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£321.82 to raise for Save The Children

The Pollyanna Plan is already making a HUGE, positive difference to my life and I hope to be able to make a positive difference to children’s lives around the world

Save the Children is working on the ground in Syria to provide water, medicine and clothing for the millions of children suffering due to the terrible conflict.  Just a very small donation can help make sure many more Syrian children are fed, healthy and safe, as well as support them through the horrific experiences they’ve been through.

If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save The Children.

You can donate safely and securely by clicking on the Just Giving link below from anywhere in the world, using any currency. 

100% of all sponsorship money goes directly to Save The Children.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

 Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

549889_10152652183600191_721937794_n

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


Leave a Reply

