Email Is Good, But Parcels And Post Are Better – Day 49 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 49, Reason 49: I am so happy I received parcels in the post today.

 4a3e4032e3ef580c49f9876d893e41f5

There’s something about receiving post that’s special these days, don’t you think? I hardly get anything sent to me through the mail anymore, as everything is sent by email nowadays. I miss that feeling of anticipation I used to get as a child, when I heard the sound of the postman’s footsteps approaching. So, I was delighted and very surprised when there was a knock at the door this morning and there stood the postman bearing not one, but TWO parcels addressed to me. 🙂

Ok, so the first parcel contained the new business cards I ordered the other day, so technically I sent them to myself, but I was still happy to receive them and chuffed to bits, as they look great.

The second parcel had been sent by my dearest friend and upon ripping it open, I discovered it was a copy of the book she has just written and published, with a lovely inscription to me inside the front cover. I’m so proud of her and I can’t wait to read it…although it’s written in Spanish, so it might take me a while!

Here are some more things that made me happy today:

  • Although I still don’t feel great, I’m a little better than yesterday
  • It has been a beautiful, warm, Spring day
  • I managed a short outing to the pharmacy – not very exciting, I know, but I’m always happy when I’m well enough to leave the house.
  • My Mum and I ate lunch out on the balcony in the sunshine
  • I did my daily 30 min yoga session, which I have now done for 9 whole days in a row. It’s really helping and I highly recommend it!
  • I’ve just managed a short walk with the dogs.

All in all, a pretty good day!

316 days to go

316 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£321.82 to raise for Save The Children

The Pollyanna Plan is already making a HUGE, positive difference to my life and I hope to be able to make a positive difference to children’s lives around the world

Save the Children is working on the ground in Syria to provide water, medicine and clothing for the millions of children suffering due to the terrible conflict.  Just a very small donation can help make sure many more Syrian children are fed, healthy and safe, as well as support them through the horrific experiences they’ve been through.

If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan (365 days to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful) by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save The Children.

You can donate safely and securely by clicking on the Just Giving link below from anywhere in the world, using any currency. 

100% of all sponsorship money goes directly to Save The Children.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

 Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


2 thoughts on “Email Is Good, But Parcels And Post Are Better – Day 49 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. I so agree with this.
    Last year I was ill and through the world of the internet I reconnected with a friend I have not seen in years. She was also very ill. We decided to start sending snail mail letters to each other in May 2012. We used to post the odd letter when we were in contact as she lived in Scotland at the time. I thought it would help us both – give us a positive focus and something to fill our time – it certainly worked and it is amazing to re-read how far we have both come in this time. Unfortunately, whereas I am healing her problems have worsened and she is unable to physically manage the writing. I am still sending her letters and cards each month because I know what it means to her.

Leave a Reply

