Viva La Vida – Day 48 of The Pollyanna Plan

 Day 48, Reason 48: Today I am celebrating life!

I’ve been suffering from a chronic low grade fever for a few weeks now, but I thought I’d finally beaten it, as I’ve been feeling a little better for the past few days. However, last night the fever returned along with a sore throat. I felt so disappointed when I woke up this morning, as I really thought I was making progress.

But, then I reminded myself of The Pollyanna Plan and all the great things that have happened since I started writing this blog and I realised that I’ve made more progress than I could ever have imagined in such a short space of time.

As if The Universe felt this shift in my feelings, my email inbox pinged with a new message, which turned out to be another enquiry about a commission for my handcrafted items. I was overjoyed! It’s funny how quickly things can turn around when you put a little effort into feeling positive.

As I wasn’t well enough to do much, I decided to put some music on whilst I attempted to sort a mounting pile of paperwork. The first song that came on was Coldplay’s “Viva La Vida”. I find the music so uplifting, I couldn’t resist putting it on repeat and hauling myself up from the sofa for a little dance.

The song is something of a paradox though, as the lyrics are quite dark and ambiguous and seem to be about loss and struggle, yet the music and title are joyous and celebratory – “Viva La Viva” means Long Live Life or simply Live Life.

Doing some research a little later (thank you Wikipedia) I discovered that Chris Martin (Coldplay’s singer) is quoted as saying that the title is taken from a painting by 20th century Mexican artist, Frida Kahlo. Talking about  Frida’s strength – enduring polio, a broken spine, and a decade of chronic pain, he said: “She went through a lot of s**t, of course, and then she started a big painting in her house that said ‘Viva la Vida’, I just loved the boldness of it.”

frida-kahlo-viva-la-vida-2

Viva La Vida – Frida Kahlo

I loved the boldness of it too! So, I took inspiration from both Coldplay’s song and Frida Kahlo – both deal with struggle, pain and obstacles, yet their message is to live life and enjoy it to fullest. So, that’s exactly what I’ve been doing today – celebrating living my life. And I can tell you, I feel so much better for it. My symptoms haven’t magically vanished or anything, but they’ve certainly improved and I’ve spent the day enjoying everything about life and living.

Even my dogs joined in – I found them both lying out on the balcony this afternoon enjoying the sunshine. 🙂

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

Catching some rays

I’ll leave you with Coldplay performing Viva La Vida at the closing ceremony of the London 2012 Paralympic Games – another incredible example of  triumphing over adversity and celebrating life.

Viva La Vida!

317 days to go

317 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£321.82 to raise for Save The Children

The Pollyanna Plan is already making a HUGE, positive difference to my life and I hope to share this with others and pass it on.

My nephew being in hospital this week has made me realise how fortunate most of us are to live in countries where good medical care is readily available. Save the Children helps to save the lives of those children throughout the world who do not have this privilege.

If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save The Children. You can donate safely and securely by clicking on the Just Giving link below from anywhere in the world, using any currency.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


Leave a Reply

