On The Road To Recovery – Day 47 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 47, Reason 47: Today I am over the moon that I’ve been able to reduce my dose of thyroid medication, which means that my body is healing. 🙂

I’ve been on daily medication for the past 3 years, as due to the autoimmune disease I suffer from, my thyroid doesn’t function properly and needs support. With the benefit of hindsight, I now realise that being prescribed this medication by my doctor was not necessarily a good thing, as I believe that it doesn’t give my body the chance to heal itself.

It helped to a certain extent as, at the time, I was very weak and my blood pressure so low, that I could barely get out of bed without feeling extremely faint and exhausted. I was told that I’d have to take this medication every day for the rest of my life, as my thyroid is slowly being destroyed and killed off by the autoimmune attack and that over time my dose will need to be increased as the attack worsens. But, I’m not having any of it!

I have complete faith that my body can and will heal itself and that new, healthy cells will replace the cells that have been damaged. However, the way I see it, is that whilst the medication is still supporting me, my thyroid doesn’t have the chance to waken from it’s slumber and get it’s butt in gear.

So, over the past year, with the support of a health professional, I have been gradually reducing the dose of my medication with good results and today I took the next step towards being medication free – my goal for 2013!  I’m feeling ecstatic, as I’m now well on the road to recovery.

*Quick disclaimer: I certainly don’t recommend anyone changing their medication without consulting their doctor first. *

This morning, I also finished the commissioned, handmade design I started yesterday and have sent it off to my customer. I hope they like it!

And the best news of all is that my little nephew came out of hospital last night and is recovering at home. Thank you Universe!

8371972537_d6a304d0f7_z
318 days to go

318 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£321.82 to raise for Save The Children

The Pollyanna Plan is already making a HUGE, positive difference to my life and I hope to share this with others and pass it on.

My nephew being in hospital yesterday has made me realise how fortunate most of us are to live in countries where good medical care is readily available. Save the Children helps to save the lives of those children throughout the world who do not have this privilege.

If you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save The Children. You can donate safely and securely by clicking on the Just Giving link below from anywhere in the world, using any currency.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


3 thoughts on “On The Road To Recovery – Day 47 of The Pollyanna Plan

Leave a Reply

