Good Hair Day – Day 45 of The Pollyanna Plan

Bad hair days took on a new meaning for me when my hair started to fall out last summer. I’d suffered from hair loss in the past, caused by chronic illness, but nothing in comparison to this.

My hair came out in handfuls every time I touched it, washed it, dried it or brushed it. I’d try to tell myself that it was only hair, that I was very lucky to have any at all, and that it would grow back, but it was still very upsetting. In total, I lost about half my hair, before, thankfully, the hair loss slowed down. I’m now left with very thin, fine hair.

But today, two wonderful things happened:

Day 45, Reason 45: Today I’m so happy that I’m having a very good hair day

Firstly, I woke up feeling better than I’ve felt in a few weeks. Hoorah! I’ve been wanting to colour my hair for AGES, but just haven’t felt well enough. So, to celebrate the small improvement in my health this morning, I grabbed the natural, ammonia free hair dye and headed to the bathroom.

I’m not usually one to pay too much attention to my appearance. I believe there are far more important things in life than what you look like on the outside. But, I haven’t felt well enough to bother with anything like that for so long – I spend most of my days in track suits, which are barely a step up from pjs, and no make up –  that it felt great to be doing some (much needed) beautifying!

The second, even more fabulous thing to happen was that during the course of colouring my hair, I noticed that I have LOTS of new hair growth. Yippee! I’m so delighted, as not only will I soon have thicker hair again, but it’s a very good sign that my body is healing.

I also managed my daily yoga session this afternoon and, to top off my day, I spotted a beautiful double rainbow from my bedroom window. It feels like the Universe is celebrating with me! 🙂

IMG_0205

320 days to go

320 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£321.82 to raise for Save The Children

The Pollyanna Plan is already making a HUGE difference to my life and I hope to be able to make a difference to children’s lives around the world. 

If  you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save The Children. You can donate by clicking on the link below. 

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

The reason I have chosen to support Save the Children is because of the incredible work they do in 120 countries, saving children’s lives, fighting for their rights and helping them fulfill their potential. I believe that every child deserves the chance to shine.

You can donate safely and securely via Just Giving from anywhere in the world, using any currency. 

 Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


4 thoughts on “Good Hair Day – Day 45 of The Pollyanna Plan

Leave a Reply

