Gardening Therapy – Day 44 of The Pollyanna Plan

Right from the outset today, I had a small spring in my step and health wise I’m feeling a little better. 🙂

I began my day with 30 mins of the online beginner’s yoga video. It’s called a “sun rise” yoga session, but I started at 11:30am – better late than never though! Then, to make the most of the small improvement in my health, I joined my Mum in the garden for a spot of gardening – something I haven’t done for a very long time!

Day 44, Reason 44:  Today I took great pleasure in putting on my gardening gloves and pulling up weeds.

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

My job was to pull up the many weeds that have sprouted since we’ve had all this rain. The sun came out for the first time in days, the birds were singing and the colours of the garden were really quite beautiful. I sat on the path, trowel and fork in hand, and got lost in my task, whilst enjoying the feeling of the warm sun on my back.

I marvelled at all the creatures I found living in the soil – really, it’s quite amazing how many different bugs were going about their business in the patch of ground I was working on.  Digging in the dirt reminded me of being a child again and finding enjoyment in the simple pleasures in life.

VLUU L200  / Samsung L200

I haven’t done any gardening for years and I’d forgotten how relaxing and therapeutic it can be. There’s something about being in the garden, feeling connected to nature, and focusing my efforts on one task that made me feel very present, like I was living in the moment. Who knew gardening wasn’t just for the older generation!? 😉 I highly recommend it!

Other wonderful news today is that I am in awe of the power of gratitude and feeling thankful. After publishing my post yesterday, thanking all the people who are following The Pollyanna Plan blog for their much appreciated support, 4 more people started following. Incredible! Now that’s the law of attraction in action right there.

Also, I feel extremely touched that The Pollyanna Plan has inspired a fellow blogger to join me in finding a reason to feel glad/happy/joyful every day. You can read her blog here: AttractionInAction1000000.wordpress.com

I wish her the very best of luck. Anyone else want to join in?

321 days to go

321 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£321.82 to raise for Save The Children

The Pollyanna Plan is already making a HUGE difference to my life and I hope to be able to make a difference to children’s lives around the world. 

If  you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan, by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save The Children, by clicking on the link below. 

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

The reason I have chosen to support Save the Children is because of the incredible work they do in 120 countries, saving children’s lives, fighting for their rights and helping them fulfill their potential. I believe that every child deserves the chance to shine.

You can donate safely and securely via Just Giving from anywhere in the world, using any currency. 

 Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


5 thoughts on “Gardening Therapy – Day 44 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Thank you for your comment! 🙂 Here is the link to the yoga video I’ve been doing:

    I don’t know anything about yoga, but I came across this video through a Google search and it’s the best one I’ve found to suit my needs, being a complete beginner. Let me know how you get on! x

  2. Wow – gardening is theraputic, when I was 1st ill, a year ago, spending time at the allotment was really good. Fresh air and the world (natural) helps us heal because it reminds us of the universal core that we belong to and move away from every working day with our busy, modern lives. Beautiful flowers x

Leave a Reply

