A Story To Be Told – Day 42 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 42, Reason 42: I’m excited that I feel motivated to try creative writing

I began my day by doing the online yoga video I discovered yesterday. Even though I’m still feeling far from well, the yoga and deep breathing definitely helped and I was a little more refreshed and energised by the time I had finished.

Feeling motivated and inspired by this, it got me thinking about The Pollyanna Plan and how I really enjoy writing this blog each day. When I started, I worried that I’d find it difficult to think of something to write on a daily basis, but it’s actually not that hard at all. Even on days when I feel I don’t have much to say, if I just start typing, the writing begins to flow.

It reminded me of when I was a child and how I loved writing and telling stories. I still have 3 “books” I wrote when I was 7 or 8, as part of a school project. I loved the feeling of letting my imagination run free and creating something that no one else had ever thought of. At various points throughout my adult life I have tried writing stories/novels. I’d begin with great enthusiasm only to become stuck and frustrated, at which point I’d abandon the idea. But, today, I felt motivated to try creative writing again and I’m excited about the prospect.

I began by doing some research online and looking for ideas about where to start. If anyone has any tips, I’d be really grateful for your advice. I also dug through files on my PC I didn’t even know were still there and found the beginnings of two stories I had started in the past. I was quite surprised that they weren’t all that bad!

I think the main problem I encounter when writing creatively is being able to plan a plot and know where it’s going. I love coming up with a seed of an idea or the beginning of a story and I can usually write a few pages straight away, but then the ideas dry up and any plot I come up with after that just seems a bit naff.

I won’t let this dull my enthusiasm though. I think I just need to start off small, rather than trying to write the next Pride and Prejudice. Wouldn’t that be great though?! It’s always good to dream! 😉

I’ll let you know how I get on.

392e2c880a06644c73848162c43da243

Anne Hathaway as Jane Austen in Becoming Jane

323 days to go

323 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£321.82 to raise for Save The Children

I am writing a blog post every day for 365 days, to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful in a mission to improve my health and life through the power of positive, happy feelings.

If  you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor The Pollyanna Plan, by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save The Children, by clicking on the link below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Save the Children is working on the ground right now in Syria to provide water, medicine and clothing for the millions of children suffering due to the terrible conflict.  Just a very small donation can help make sure many more Syrian children are fed, healthy and safe, as well as support them through the horrific experiences they’ve been through.

You can donate safely and securely via Just Giving from anywhere in the world, using any currency. 

100% of all sponsorship money goes directly to Save The Children. 

 Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013-  All Rights Reserved.


One thought on “A Story To Be Told – Day 42 of The Pollyanna Plan

Leave a Reply

