Everything Starts With A Dream – Day 36 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 36, Reason 36: Today I am happy daydreaming

I was up for most of the night feeling really ill and, subsequently, I’ve spent today in bed. My health just doesn’t seem to be getting with the program!

I’m certainly feeling a lot happier since starting The Pollyanna Plan, but health wise (or more accurately illness wise) it’s just been one thing after the other for the past few months, with barely a break in between.

But, I must knuckle down and keep going with The Plan, as other things in my life seem to be changing for the better. Perhaps, my health just needs a little time to adjust.

When I finally managed to get dressed this afternoon (technically changing pyjamas isn’t really getting dressed, but never mind) and moved from bed to sofa, I was greeted with something that cheered me up – this month’s copy of Horse & Rider Magazine.

As part of my Christmas present, my Mum surprised me with a year’s subscription to the magazine, as she knows only too well that horses are my passion. The fact that when anyone asks me what I’d like for Christmas or birthdays, I still say “a horse”, kinda gives it away – I’ve been keeping this up since I was 7!

I just love everything about horses – their grace, beauty and energy, their horsey smell, the feel of their soft noses, and nothing beats the exhilaration and sense of freedom that horse riding gives me. I was getting lost in a daydream right there!

Anyway, back to today. So, the magazine arrived and the first article I turned to was about a middle aged couple who had fulfilled a lifelong dream of trekking the length of Spain on their horses. I’d absolutely love to do something like that, but right now it all seems a million miles away.

However, therein lies the beauty of daydreaming. In my daydream, I own a beautiful, gentle horse and we’re going on an adventure -riding from coast to coast, taking in the spectacular landscape, having amazing experiences along the way, riding by day and sleeping under the stars at night. I could go on, but I don’t want to bore you and I’m sure you get the point.

d39d6956442b88e8825b3391ca9f3746

They say that the brain can’t tell the difference between daydreaming (or brain rehearsal) and reality, in fact, it’s been scientifically proven. And I can tell, it’s true!

For those few minutes, I became completely immersed in my daydream, picturing everything I could see, hear, smell and feel. It felt so real and, more importantly, I felt so alive, happy and healthy. 🙂

Everything starts with a dream!

329 days to go

329 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

£321.82 to raise for Save The Children

I am writing a blog post every day for 365 days, to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful in a mission to improve my health and life through the power of positive, happy feelings.

If  you have enjoyed reading this post, maybe you would like to sponsor me, by making a small donation to my chosen charity, Save The Children, by clicking on the link below:

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

You can donate safely and securely via Just Giving from anywhere in the world, using any currency. 

100% of all sponsorship money goes directly to Save The Children. 

 Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013 –  All Rights Reserved.


2 thoughts on “Everything Starts With A Dream – Day 36 of The Pollyanna Plan

  1. Keep going – I am glad the Pollyanna Plan is working for you – lovely that I have followed from the start.
    Changing PJs is dressing and is a huge achievement when you’re not well. x

Leave a Reply

