We Make A Life By What We Give – Day 34 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 34, Reason 34: Today I feel overjoyed about giving back and setting myself another challenge

I’m so excited to write this blog post, which is a little bizarre, as only a few hours ago I really didn’t know what to write at all.

A quick update and then I’ll get to the good part: I still have a fever, I’m not feeling physically well, but I’m even more determined to feel happy no matter what.

I must confess that it’s been a bit of a struggle today, but every time I’ve caught myself feeling despondent, I’ve reminded myself of the 33 reasons I’ve found to feel happy so far through The Pollyanna Plan.

When I opened up my laptop this afternoon to write today’s blog post, I decided to check my email first. I discovered that I had received an email from the charity, Save The Children, who were asking for donations to provide newborn babies around the world the basic healthcare needed to survive their first hour.

I clicked on the link to have a look at their site and saw a donation page which explained that just £3 a month buys equipment to clear a baby’s lungs of mucus so they can breathe at birth. This really touched my heart, as when my beautiful nephew was born, he was a few weeks premature and needed help with his breathing. He’s now a happy, healthy one year old and brings us all a lot of joy and laughter, but it made me realise that sadly many babies and their families are not so fortunate. So, I have donated £3 a month, as  I felt it was the least I could do.

Just this very small act of giving made me feel happy and it got me thinking about what else I could do to help. People do all sorts of weird and wonderful things for charity, but they usually involve some big physical challenge, which I’m not up to doing.

I really wished I could do more and, at that very moment I had that thought, I also had an idea. An idea that has made me feel fizzy with excitement, happiness and hope.

I suddenly realised that there was something I could do, in fact, it was staring me squarely in the face.  It dawned on me that The Pollyanna Plan is a challenge: A challenge to find 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful every single day for 365 days in a mission to improve my health and life. So, why not make The Pollyanna Plan Blog into a sponsored challenge, with all the money raised to be donated to Save The Children. I had my fundraising idea right in front of me all along!

Without a moment to waste, I set about creating a fundraising page for Save The Children and setting the target to raise £365 for 365 days of writing this blog and finding 365 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful. And I can tell you without a doubt that today’s reason is the best of all – I’m genuinely so happy and excited!

I would be extremely grateful for any sponsorship, no matter how small. Also, any help with getting the word out about my fundraising mission would be very much appreciated.

100% of any sponsorship or donations will go directly to Save The Children through my Just Giving Page.

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!
featured

331 days to go

331 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

(£365 to raise for Save The Children)

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013 –  All Rights Reserved.


Leave a Reply

