When Life Gives You Rough Waves, Surf ‘Em! – Day 30 of The Pollyanna Plan

Today I woke up feeling a little better. I was so delighted with this small improvement in my health that I wanted to celebrate by going out and seeing the big, wide world.

Apart from a very short walk with the dogs the other day, it has been weeks since I’ve felt well enough to get out of the house, so I definitely wasn’t going to miss the opportunity.

I asked my Mum if she’d drive me down to the beach, so I could see the ocean and breathe in the sea air. On the way we passed the gym we had heard about recently and decided on a whim to go and have a look around. Usually, I’d feel really daunted about doing something like that, as all these years of illness and being practically house bound has taken it’s toll on my confidence. But, nothing was going to stop me today.

Day 30, Reason 30: I’m thrilled by the small, but hugely significant, improvement in my health and confidence.

I actually had fun looking round the gym. It was pretty basic, but there were quite a few people my age working out and the guy showing us round was friendly and helpful. I’m really pleased, as I’ve achieved another step towards my goal of paying for gym membership to help me recover some basic strength and fitness.

Afterwards, we headed to the beach and sat looking out across the ocean. The waves were quite rough today and there were some surfers out in the swell.

IMG_0182

I’ve always wanted to learn to surf….theoretically! It looks so invigorating and liberating – it must be amazing to feel so connected to the ocean. However, practically, I’m not a strong swimmer, I don’t like going underwater and big waves scare the life out of me!!

It got me thinking though, about life and overcoming obstacles and challenges and I remembered the quote, “When life gives you rough waves, surf ‘em!” So maybe in my own way, I am learning to surf.

335 days to go

335 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013 –  All Rights Reserved.


Leave a Reply

