Nothing Makes Me Happier Than Having A Plan – Day 26 of The Pollyanna Plan

??????????????????????????????????

I woke up far too early this morning and couldn’t get back to sleep again. The thought of getting up was not appealing, so instead I lay in bed mulling over a few things in my mind, when out of the blue I came up with a plan.

Day 26, Reason 26: Today I’m excited about my new plan.

Two years ago, I joined a gym in a bid to improve my poor health and get a little fitter and stronger.  At first, I found the whole experience very scary. I hadn’t been well enough to get out of the house, or meet anybody for a long time, let alone do any exercise, and I was still haunted by the memory of being bullied by a witch of a P.E (sports) teacher at school.

But, with lots of encouragement from my Mum and with the help of a kind, understanding gym instructor, I began to really enjoy my gym sessions.

To start with, I could only manage a very small amount of exercise, but after a few months my general health, fitness and even my body shape had improved – I had been very skinny and I was starting to get some muscle definition and strength.

I’ve never been a fan of team sports (no doubt due to said witch of a P.E teacher) but I loved working out and trying to improve on my personal bests. Above all, I was feeling healthier.

However, summer soon arrived that year, and so did my sister’s wedding. There was so much to do, that I found I didn’t have the energy to get to the gym as often as before and I couldn’t afford to continue my membership if I wasn’t actually going. I decided to cancel and rejoin after the summer was over.

Or so I thought, as a few months later the gym closed down. At the time, I promised myself I would continue exercising at home. I’m ashamed to say, I didn’t!

Then, the other day, my Mum met someone who used to go to the same gym as us and he mentioned that he had joined a gym just down the road from where we live.  I’d love to get back into going to the gym, but right now there are two obstacles standing in my way.

1. I’m not well enough

2. I can’t afford it.

Sooooo… my new plan is as follows:

Part 1: I’ve stopped the treatment I’ve been doing, which has caused me to have so many bad reactions and once my body has had time to get over this latest set back, I should be strong enough to start some gentle exercise.

AND Part 2:  I mentioned a few blog posts ago, that a family friend very kindly gave me lots of beautiful things, some of which I’m selling through my online shop. So, my plan is to put the money I earn from these sales towards a a gym membership!

Already today, I’ve listed another item in my shop, so that’s a step closer to my goal. I also managed to go for a short walk with Mum and the dogs – first time out of the house for 10 days.  Yippee! Things are heading in the right direction.

339 days to go

339 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013 –  All Rights Reserved.


Leave a Reply

