Social Life, Next Exit – Day 25 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 25, Reason 25: Today I am so happy that I had a visitor!

My illness has seriously taken its toll on my social life. To be perfectly honest, I have no social life at all. Not something that anyone should admit to!

Ever since I moved back home 6 years ago, I’ve been too ill to get out of the house, meet new people and make friends. Sadly, the friends I had here have all since moved away and the few people who I have managed to meet have fallen by the wayside as my illness progressed. You definitely find out who your real friends are when times get tough!

Don’t worry, I’m not a total Billy-no-mates (British slang for someone with no friends!) Thanks to the wonders of modern technology, I keep in regular contact with my good friends, who are now scattered around the world, but I don’t actually get to see any of them in person.

So, today it was lovely to have a visitor and even nicer that it was my sister. I haven’t seen my sis for about a month, as she is super busy with her family and work and I’m never well enough to go over for a visit.

It was so great to see her and catch up on all her news, even if I did have to lie on the sofa under a blanket – I’m still suffering from the horrible reaction I had a few days ago. But, just seeing a friendly face and having someone else to talk to has really helped me to maintain a happy mood all day.

And in the spirit of positivity and The Pollyanna Plan, I’m going to take today as a very small step (a tiptoe really) towards a happy, healthy social life. Any new friends out there, please feel free to get in touch! 🙂

15192912-illustration-depicting-a-roadsign-with-a-social-life-concept-white-background

340 days to go

340 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013 –  All Rights Reserved.


Leave a Reply

