Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life – Day 20 of The Pollyanna Plan

I really don’t feel well today. I still have a fever and I’m completely fed up with never getting a break from feeling ill.

I even thought about giving my blog post a miss. My Mum pointed out that it wasn’t the law and I didn’t have to do it, but I made myself a promise when I started this, that I would see it through, and I’d feel like I was letting myself, and the kind people who actually read this, down.

So, I’ve had to think long and hard about my reason to feel glad/happy/joyful and just when I thought I’d have to give up, it came to me:

Day 20, Reason 20: Today I am thankful for The Pollyanna Plan.

If it weren’t for The Pollyanna Plan and this blog, I wouldn’t be forced to find something that makes me feel good every day. Take today, for example – I was sitting here on the sofa feeling ill, despondent and weepy and I’d probably have carried on feeling that way all evening, if I hadn’t made myself find my reason to feel glad.

It took some doing, I can assure you, but I got there in the end and I’m feeling decidedly happier now.  Feeling happy, when you’re physically ill is extremely hard at times, but there are plenty of people who have improved their health through the power of positive feelings. If they can do it, then so can I!

I’ve just been looking online for some music to play to carry on boosting my happy feelings. I typed “positive songs” into Google and stumbled upon a video of Eric Idle (from Monty Python) singing, “Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life.”  It actually made me laugh, which is quite an achievement today.  I needed the reminder!

Here’s the video for anyone who’d like to see it, but please be warned there is a swear word in it!

 “If life seems jolly rotten.
 There’s something you’ve forgotten. And that’s to laugh and smile and dance and sing. 
When you’re feeling in the dumps. 
Don’t be silly chumps. Just purse your lips and whistle – that’s the thing. And…always look on the bright side of life… 
Always look on the light side of life…” Eric Idle, Monty Python.

345 days to go

345  reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013 –  All Rights Reserved.


2 thoughts on “Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life – Day 20 of The Pollyanna Plan

Leave a Reply

