Pancakes – Day 19 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 19 and today is Shrove Tuesday, or as I prefer to call it, Pancake Day! Yippee!

I’ve still got a cold and I’m feeling decidedly under the weather, but I’ve had a much better day overall.

For starters, I managed to sleep a little better than usual last night, which really makes a big difference. And I had a bit more energy this morning, so I was able to get some jobs done; including listing 1 new item in my online shop, which is one of the challenges I have set myself. It feels great to be able to tick off some of the things on my to-do-list.

The best part of the day came at lunchtime:

Day 19, Reason 19: I am so happy that I was able to eat pancakes with lots of freshly squeezed lemon and sugar – delicious!

pancake_day_16x9

You see, there are sooo many foods I can’t eat: gluten, dairy, rice, oats, tomatoes, onions, chocolate 😦  The list is long, so I won’t bore you. Either I am intolerant to these foods, or they make the symptoms of my illness much worse, so I miss out on eating all these yummy foods that other people take for granted.

Most of the time, it really doesn’t bother me, as I’m not a foodie and I know all too well the consequences to my health and wellbeing of eating foods on my banned list. Plus, I’m very grateful that I’m lucky enough to always have enough food to eat.

But, sometimes I long to be able to eat “normal” food – freshly baked bread with real butter springs to mind, as does Spaghetti Bolognese and Galaxy chocolate…sorry, getting caught up in my food daydream there.

So, today, I was jumping for joy to discover that we had some gluten free flour (still in date), lactose free milk and eggs in the fridge and I was able to eat pancakes. 🙂

Unfortunately, I have a fever again now and I’m feeling worse, but I’m going to keep focusing on my achievements today and my reason to feel glad/happy/joyful.

346 days to go

346  reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013 –  All Rights Reserved.


Leave a Reply

