An Attitude of Gratitude – Day 18 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 18, Reason 18: Today I feel joyful, as I have developed a cold and that’s all it is; nothing worse!

This must sound like one of the strangest reasons in the world to feel happy, but its true. I am genuinely so pleased that the fever and feeling awful of yesterday has just developed into a harmless cold and is not a flare up of my ongoing illness, or anything else nasty.

Admittedly, I still don’t feel well physically, but I’m feeling a million times happier today. Yey me! 🙂 And I have The Pollyanna Plan to thank for it, as it forced me to find a reason to feel glad/happy/joyful yesterday, even though I really, really didn’t feel like it.

So, with my optimism returned, as I was getting dressed this morning, I remembered the guy from “The Secret” who talks about going through all the things he is grateful for every morning and I started to make a mental list of all the things in my life I am thankful for. Things like having family and friends who care about me, living in a warm, safe home, owning a car, only having a cold and nothing worse etc!

I’ve just taken a break from writing this, as one of our kind neighbours arrived at the door with a bag full of fresh tangerines she had just picked from her tree for us. So generous! Another reason to feel grateful today. I’ve just eaten 2 for some much needed vitamin C.

Anyway, where was I? Oh yes, gratitude! It really is such a powerful emotion. Making my list this morning and reminding myself of all the things I’m grateful for has really helped me to keep happy and positive all day.

I found this online the other day, which really brought home to me just how lucky I am:

 582521_544212535597473_310296068_n

Pollyanna had a point with her “Glad Game” didn’t she? No matter how bad things get, there is always, always, always a reason to feel grateful.

347 days to go

347  reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013 –  All Rights Reserved.


Leave a Reply

