Keep on Moving – Day 16 of The Pollyanna Plan

Day 16, Reason 16: I’m really chuffed that today I have managed to do 3 short spells of exercise.

I’m not talking about “real” exercise here – that really would be a miracle! I didn’t come close to breaking into a sweat or anything, but I’m just delighted that I felt well enough to get up and move.

I woke up earlier than usual this morning. By that I mean 8am, which feels like the middle of the night to me.  I’m still not sleeping well, BUT I have recovered from the nasty side effects of the vitamin I’d taken yesterday and I feel a little better in general. This is definite cause for celebration!

Inspired by my early start, the slight improvement in my health and the glorious, sunny day, I took the opportunity to get out of the house and drink in some fresh air.

My Mum and I went for a walk with our dogs along the saltwater lake in the sand dunes next to our favourite beach. The area is a nature reserve and home to an incredible variety of birds. It really is very beautiful there.

IMG_0167

We took a leisurely stroll along the boardwalk, which runs alongside the lake, with the dogs on their leads, of course. I only managed to walk to the halfway point and back, but this is an achievement in itself. It felt so good to be out and there was plenty of wildlife to admire.

IMG_0172

We spotted a big flock of flamingos wading lazily on the far side of the lake, as well as ducks, moorhens, coots, cormorants, gulls and all manner of birds I can’t identify. (Please excuse the photos taken on my phone, but these really are flamingos, I promise!)

IMG_0169

So, that was spell of exercise number 1!

Next, when we got home, came spell of exercise number 2: I did 10 minutes of my Pilates stretching DVD. I can’t do many of the exercises and I’m hilariously inflexible, but I did what I could and felt a little better for it.

After that, I needed lunch and a well earned nap, but then came spell of exercise number 3 – another short, gentle walk with Mum and the dogs through the countryside where we live.

I’m thrilled to have managed to do all that today, as there are some days when I’m too ill to get out of bed. And I’ve made a promise to myself that I will try and do some form of gentle exercise/movement every day from now on.

I think it was Albert Einstein who said, “life is like riding a bicycle. To keep your balance, you must keep moving.”

Will do, Mr Einstein!

349 days to go

349  reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013 –  All Rights Reserved.
Follow The Pollyanna Plan on Facebook
Join The Pollyanna Plan 30 Day Challenge Group on Facebook
Take a look at my photos on Instagram
Connect with The Pollyanna Plan on Twitter


Leave a Reply

