Matters Of The Heart – Day 14 of The Pollyanna Plan

Today is Day 14 of the Pollyanna Plan – that’s 2 whole weeks of finding a daily reason to be glad/happy/joyful on my mission to improve my health and life. And you know what? I’m beginning to notice a difference. Maybe not in my physical symptoms just quite yet, but I am definitely feeling happier and more positive in general. 🙂

I’m also finding that I’m focusing less on the not so great stuff and really accentuating the things that bring me joy. For example, physically speaking, today has been a struggle. Another terrible night’s sleep has left me totally exhausted again and I’ve had to spend the afternoon lying down. BUT I’m not thinking about that, as I have a fantastic reason to feel over the moon.

Day 14, Reason 14: I am so happy that my heart is healthy and strong!

heart-photo-photography-Favim.com-178032

Ok, I know it sounds kind of odd, but here is why I’ve chosen this for my reason today. I went to see a cardiologist this morning to undergo cardiac function tests. You see, I’ve been getting short of breath far too frequently recently. I’m not overweight, I’ve never smoked and the blood tests my doctor sent me for came back normal, so I was referred to the cardiologist to check that everything is ok with my heart.

I didn’t think that heart problems were causing my symptoms, but after I completed the tests this morning, it was a great relief to hear that everything is fine, with my heart at least. I only managed 3 minutes on the treadmill test, as I became too breathless. Embarrassing or what?! But, I’m celebrating today that I have a healthy heart. I even jumped up and down with joy (briefly) as soon as I got into the empty lift (elevator) outside the cardiologist’s office.

I mean, it’s not something you normally think about is it, how your heart is doing? It’s just there inside you, beating away, keeping you alive. But having a question mark hanging over how my heart was functioning and then discovering it is working perfectly has really made me feel incredibly grateful and blessed. So, thank you, thank you, thank you to my wonderful heart for doing such an outstanding job! 🙂

351 days to go

351  reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013 –  All Rights Reserved.
Follow The Pollyanna Plan on Facebook
Join The Pollyanna Plan 30 Day Challenge Group on Facebook
Take a look at my photos on Instagram
Connect with The Pollyanna Plan on Twitter


Leave a Reply

