The Beauty Of Nature – Day 10 of The Pollyanna Plan

Not a great day health wise today. It seems like it’s one step forward, then one step back at the moment, but I guess there are lots of changes going on with the introduction of The Pollyanna Plan and my body needs time to adjust and to get with the programme!

So, in a bid to cheer me up, my Mum took me out for a drive this morning and I soon found my reason for the day. Thank you Mum! Of course, our dogs came too. They love a road trip.

Day 10, Reason 10: Today I feel elated by the beauty of nature

Just a few minutes drive from home and we were already surrounded by beautiful countryside and fields of orange trees, laden with fruit. (Please excuse the photos, they were taken on my phone!)

IMG_0157      IMG_0160

We continued on and were soon driving through rolling hills, thick with lush vegetation and towering Eucalyptus trees.

IMG_0151

We reached the reservoir and stood on the wall of the dam, being buffeted by the wind. The water stretched for miles (you can only see a small part of it in this photo) and it looked quite muddy. We had very little rainfall last year, so the water level is quite low. This winter there have been a good few heavy downfalls, which should help, but it looks like we need some more!

IMG_0143

At an old lookout point, we found this impressive pine tree, looking magnificent against the backdrop of the deep, blue sky and green hills.

IMG_0146

Wild flowers were growing everywhere.

IMG_0147

By the roadside, we spotted this gorgeous, wild rose growing outside the front of a derelict house. The beauty of nature never ceases to amaze me!

IMG_0154

To top off the morning, I looked up to see a great bird of prey (wish I knew which one – I’m thinking buzzard?!) sitting on a wire, just metres from us. Of course, by the time I had reached for my phone to take a photo, he had swooped away. Camera shy, I guess! 🙂

I have to admit, I was feeling pretty miserable this morning due to my very temperamental health, but seeing all the beauty the world has to offer really lifted my spirits.

“The human spirit needs places where nature has not been rearranged by the hand of man.”

355 days to go

355  reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find
© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013 –  All Rights Reserved.
Follow The Pollyanna Plan on Facebook
Join The Pollyanna Plan 30 Day Challenge Group on Facebook
Take a look at my photos on Instagram
Connect with The Pollyanna Plan on Twitter


One thought on “The Beauty Of Nature – Day 10 of The Pollyanna Plan

Leave a Reply

