The Hidden Power of Smiling– Day 6 of The Pollyanna Plan

“I never will understand all the good that a simple smile can accomplish.”
Mother Teresa

After celebrating the small, yet significant, step forward I took yesterday in my mission to improve my ill health through the power of positive, happy feelings, I woke up in the middle of the night with a fever and have spent the day feeling awful.

Seriously, will the powers that be please give me a break here?! It’s hard not to feel like someone, somewhere has it in for me, but, maybe this is a test and the perfect opportunity for the Pollyanna Plan to really show what it’s made of.

So, you know what I did today to keep my spirits up, even though it was the last thing I felt like doing? I smiled!

Any time I caught myself dwelling on feeling bad, or feeling sorry for myself, I plastered a big, beaming smile all over my face.

Ok, so to start with it felt very fake, but there’s something powerful about the act of smiling that can turn even a fake smile into a real one. And before long, smiling was really making me feel much happier.

I’m not going to lie to you, I’m not bouncing about filled with joy today, but I’m definitely feeling a lot more cheerful than I was and I’m quietly confident that this blip will soon pass.

So, here is my reason to be glad/happy/joyful today:

Day 6, Reason 6: I am so thankful for the hidden power of smiling.

I’m going to leave you with this fascinating talk given by Ron Gutman, entitled The Hidden Power Of Smiling – I’ve totally stolen his title, I know, but I’m sure he’ll understand.

Ron (or should I call him, Mr Gutman) explains lots of astonishing and amusing facts about smiling, all taken from studies and research For example, did you know that one smile can activate the same brain stimulation as up to 2,000 bars of chocolate?! And best of all, that lots of smiling can make you healthier. I’ve just watched it and I’m grinning from ear to ear.

359 days to go

359 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013 –  All Rights Reserved.
Follow The Pollyanna Plan on Facebook
Join The Pollyanna Plan 30 Day Challenge Group on Facebook
Take a look at my photos on Instagram
Connect with The Pollyanna Plan on Twitter


3 thoughts on “The Hidden Power of Smiling– Day 6 of The Pollyanna Plan

Leave a Reply

