Don’t Stop Me Now – Day 3 of The Pollyanna Plan

“Tonight, I’m going to have myself a real good time, I feel ali ii ii iiiive!”

To be honest, I haven’t felt very alive today and as the hours ticked by I was getting a little concerned as to what I could possibly feel glad, happy and joyful about. The weather is miserable, I’m completely exhausted, yet annoyingly I can’t sleep and I couldn’t find anything worth watching on TV.

But then, as if guided by some higher power, I began flicking through the channels and stumbled upon Vintage TV – a channel dedicated to vintage music. And there I had it – my reason for today.

Day 3, Reason 3 – I am thrilled that so many of the greatest songs were released in 1979 a.k.a the year I was born!

As my thumb was poised on the remote ready to continue onto the next channel, a familiar piano tinkle caught my attention and my mood instantly started to lift.

“At first I was afraid, I was petrified…”

Now, who can possibly sit still when they hear that? I was off – Exaggerated, crazy dancing from the comfort of the sofa, singing at the top of my voice and beaming from ear to ear. Incredible what a piece of music can do!

Then it popped up on the screen – “I Will Survive – Gloria Gaynor 1979.” How cool, I thought! I must add at this point (clearly showing off) that I have actually met Gloria Gaynor and seen her perform “I Will Survive.” Amazing!

So, I was smiling at last and feeling pretty good, when next up was Sultans of Swing – Dire Straits – also 1979. More dancing and singing ensued, slightly less crazy this time.

And just when I thought that things couldn’t get any better, I heard “Tonight, I’m going to have myself a real good time.” My all time favourite song and guess what? Yep, it was released in 1979.

I love “Don’t Stop Me Now”, as it’s such a joyous, optimistic song about enjoying life to the fullest and it makes me want to get up and dance, no matter how bad I am feeling.

The song brought me to my feet and sent me dancing off round the living room, my dogs started barking and wagging and I can assure you that everyone was “having a good time, having a good time!” Sorry, I couldn’t resist!

So, a big thank you to Freddie Mercury and Queen for making my day and giving me a very good reason to feel joyful. And I also want to thank all the brilliant recording artists who made 1979 such an awesome year to be born.

Here are a few more:

Tragedy – Bee Gees

We Are Family – Sister Sledge

Don’t Stop Till You Get Enough – Michael Jackson

And…wait for it…

Y.M.C.A – Village People 

362 days to go

362 reasons to feel glad/happy/joyful to find

Don’t stop me now! 😉

© N. Lamy – The Pollyanna Plan – 2013 –  All Rights Reserved.
Follow The Pollyanna Plan on Facebook
Join The Pollyanna Plan 30 Day Challenge Group on Facebook
Take a look at my photos on Instagram
Connect with The Pollyanna Plan on Twitter


Leave a Reply

